Roasted Vegetable, Purple Sprouting and Feta Cheese Salad

If you follow me on Instagram you will have seen that my blogging absence has been the result of me spending the last few days drinking cider, eating street food and dancing in the rain at The Isle of Wight Festival. As festivals go, I am a complete Glastonbury bum, and this was my first experience of flying the Glastonbury nest. Now, if you have ever been to Glastonbury you will know what I mean when I say that you literally can eat anything, the food there is amazing! There is an abundance of food to cater for every culture and every diet and it is officially my food heaven! Because of this I had very high expectations of Isle of Wight and I have to say the first few days were met with massive disappointment.

Our first food experience at the Isle of Wight was the World most expensive toasty; which going by the price I expected it to be laden with molten gold; but instead it was some mild cheap cheddar and two very thin slices of chorizo sandwiched together with nasty sliced bread. This was then followed by a duck wrap that was more of a chunky cucumber wrap than crispy duck, a soggy pizza made out of sponge and cheesy chips with cheese so cold and stale that it was as likely to melt as a shoe! – The 2nd day didn’t start off much better. I woke up craving a weird and wonderful breakfast but every single food van had turned into a breakfast wagon and only sold sausage and bacon cobs butties. And we aren’t talking lovely crispy bacon in a crusty roll with some Heinz Ketchup, no, these were 10% meat sausages and bacon that was 50% fat – I wished we had held out until midday when actual food was served!

I am however pleased to say that this was the end of my sad food tale (there has been a violin playing in background while I have been typing this), as after this things were definitely on the up. We had an awesome stone baked pizza (in fact we had three of them!), meaty and delicious Ostrich burgers with sticky JD onions, and a fantastic Indian Meze plate. So I left feeling very satisfied; if not a little tired, hungover and in need of some fruit and veg…. which brings me onto todays post. When I have spent several days indulging my body craves buckets of fruit and vegetables, and this recipe is perfect for the festival aftermath. It’s full of goodness, easy to whip up, totally delicious and still has that added treat of a little cheese – to ease to back into your diet gradually. Even if you haven’t spent the weekend indulging, I am pretty sure you will still love this dish!

057

Serves 1 as a salad or 2 as a side with some salmon or chicken.

  • 1 red onion – peeled and chopped into 8 segments
  • 1 sweet potato – peeled and cut into inch pieces
  • 2/3rd of a yellow pepper – cut into inch chunks
  • 2 baby courgettes – roughly chopped
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 10 cherry tomatoes – halved
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • Pinch sugar
  • 100g purple sprouting broccoli
  • 50g feta cheese – cut into cm chunks
  • Black pepper

Toss the onion, sweet potato, pepper and courgettes in an oven dish with the olive oil and roast for 20 minutes.

Pre-heat the oven to 180’C

Add the tomatoes to the dish and stir in the balsamic vinegar and the sugar.

Return to the oven for a further 15 minutes

Add the purple sprouting to the pan and sprinkle over the feta cheese.

Return to the oven for a final 15 minutes, season with a little black pepper, plate up and enjoy.

follow me

5 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable, Purple Sprouting and Feta Cheese Salad

Leave a Reply

