Brie and Pea Paste Bake

There’s a little story behind creation of this dish, as it stemmed from receiving a whole load of free cheese, (and subsequently the best day ever)! I work for a catering company and was part of our quiz team at an annual organised event for fellow food wokers. You can imagine my joy when one of the rounds was announced to be a cheese round, and I have to admit a part of me thought we might ace this one! However, my general cheese knowledge was officially useless, as a large platter of local cheeses was brought out to compliment the round; which consisted of questions like…. ‘what award did this cheese win at the Kent Food Awards’ and ‘this cheese is from Dartford, which famous author was from the same town’. Seriously, come on!!! These were not ‘cheese questions’ per say, but were designed for any cheese enthusiast living in Kent, which I am not! That being said, we got to devour a delicious platter of cheese, so I wasn’t really complaining.

My boss also managed to bag all the leftover cheese from the hosts, so our work fridge was full of the stuff. A week passed and no one made claim to it so I just had to save it from being thrown away and brought home about 10kg of the stuff home; including a whole wheel of this most amazing brie! I therefore had to incorporate it into everything I cooked. It lined the buns of my recent burger dogs, got stuff into the centre of fish cakes and was AMAZING in multiple toasted sandwiches. That being said, with this dish it really was the star.

If any of you fancy giving it a try it was ‘Bowyers soft cheese’ by Cheesemakers of Canterbury, and if you can’t get hold of that then I’m sure this will be just as delicious with any other brie or soft cheese.

watercress 068

  • 1 white onion – sliced
  • Small nob butter
  • 1 carrot – peeled and grated
  • 1 pint semi skimmed milk
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • 2 tsp wholegrain mustard
  • 2 heap dsp of corn flour – made into a paste with a splash water
  • 150ml double cream
  • Handful peas
  • Handful sweetcorn
  • 200g wholemeal pasta – cooked according to pack instructions
  • Good quality brie wedge – cut into slices
  • Salt and pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 180’C

Heat the butter in a large saucepan and gently fry the onion until soft. Add the carrot and cook off until all the moisture has evaporated.

Add the milk and simmer until steaming.

Crumble in the stock cube and give it a good stir.

Pour in the flour paste, and continue to stir until the sauce has thickened.

Turn off the heat and stir in the mustard.

Mix together with the pasta, peas and sweetcorn and tip the mixture into an oven dish.

Top with the slices of brie and bake in the oven for 40 minutes to crisp up.

Serve with salad and enjoy.

watercress 081

follow me

15 thoughts on “Brie and Pea Paste Bake

  1. Lucky you for getting all that cheese! I’m a cheese addict too, I think in a previous life I was a mouse or something 🙂

    Anyway nice recipe, it’s a nice alternative to the pasta bake I generally do! 🙂

  2. Thanks for liking my blog post!!

    This looks yummy! Pasta, butter, cheese, veggies…everything I need in life haha! I’ve never tried Brie with pasta though. Gotta give that a try!

    Freelywillie.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

