Chorizo, Sundried Tomato, Parmesan and Olive Risotto; Topped with a Runny Poached Egg

I feel like it had been an age since I last posted a recipe, and alas it hasn’t been because I have been out exploring the World on some exotic trip, but simply because life gets busy! That being said, I am heading off to Sweden tomorrow, so thought I should at least try and squeeze in one post before I go (and rub in the fact that I am about to have a 5 day weekend!!).

So if I’m only going to give you one recipe this week it’s got to be a good one right!? And I have been saving this bad boy up for that very special occasion, as it is officially the dog’s whatsits (I’ve been told by my mum not to swear on hmwm so I have changed the catch phrase slightly, but you get the jest)! It’s also a really great summary recipe, as it uses some of my favourite Mediterranean flavours; I don’t think anyone could argue that this risotto isn’t absolutely scrumptious!

pork 013

Serves 2

  • 1 courgette – sliced
  • 1 red pepper – sliced
  • 135g chorizo – roughly chopped
  • 1 white onion – finely chopped
  • 330g paella rice
  • 200ml white wine
  • 8 sundried tomatoes – roughly chopped
  • 1 ½ pints vegetable stock
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • Pinch saffron
  • 1 handful basil – – roughly chopped
  • Handful rocket
  • 2 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • Handful black olives – roughly chopped
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 eggs, poached

Heat a large saucepan to a medium temperature and fry the chorizo until the majority of the oil has seeped out from it.

Fry the onion in the pan until soft and then stir in the courgette and pepper and cook for 4-5 minutes to soften slightly.

Add the rice, sundried tomatoes and saffron to the pan and give the mixture a good stir so that it’s well coated.

Add the wine and the vinegar to the pan and stir until most of the liquid has been absorbed.

1 ladle at a time, add the stock and then stir until it has absorbed.

Continue to add the stock until the rice is cooked through with a slight aldente edge (you may not need all the stock).

Remove from the heat and stir in the parmesan, basil, rocket and olives.

Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve topped with your poached egg.

19 thoughts on “Chorizo, Sundried Tomato, Parmesan and Olive Risotto; Topped with a Runny Poached Egg

  1. The bf and I had a quick conversation on Friday about what to make for dinner and didn’t come up with anything inspiring. During a quiet moment at work I came across this and emailed him the link because we already had most of the ingredients – and the dinner dilemma was solved! We didn’t have any olives, and subbed in broccoli and carrot for the courgette because we didn’t have that either, but we loved it! I bet it’s even better with the proper ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. I love this mix of strong, wonderful flavors and that egg on top! Any recommendations for successful poaching- how do you do it?A little vinegar and placing the egg in a ladle? Have a wonderful remaining weekend, Sabine.

  3. Chorizo again?? Just kidding! It’s one of life’s pure pleasures. Thanks for a great post, I know what I’m making with that leftover chorizo in the fridge. – Kat

Leave a Reply

