All Natural Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Can I tell you a secret…? This is actually the first time I have ever made red velvet cake; shocking I know, for such a classic cake! When it hit me that I’d never made it I just had  to jump straight on that band wagon and so I browsed the internet for some inspiration. I thought that there might be some classic recipe for this, like you get with a Victoria sponge, but it appears that everyone has their own unique  spin on it and so here is mine. I have also set myself a challenge to make a rainbow of cakes by the end of the year, all coloured with natural foods. There’s just something in me that doesn’t feel quite right about adding a load of food colouring to food; I can still hear my Mum’s lectures about E-Numbers and how they will give me cancer (slightly extreme perhamps), so I try and stay away from them. In this instance I used beetroot and it worked a treat, in not only adding a rich and earthly favlour to the cake but also making it beautifully red.

So out of all the many many recipes for red velvet out there, I think mine is officially a winner; I would lie if I told you that it was healthy, but hey, it does have beetroot in it, and definitely no E-numbers (or crushed beetles)!

059

For the cake

  • 4 cooked beetroots – blended until smooth
  • 8oz stork (or soft butter if you can’t get stork)
  • 8 oz caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 oz cocoa powder
  • 7 oz s.r. flour

For the frosting

  • 300g icing sugar
  • 50g butter – softened
  • 125g cream cheese

Pre-heat the oven to 160’C

Grease and line 2 x 8” cake tins

Whisk together the butter and the sugar until pale and creamy

One at a time, beat in the eggs to the mixture

Sift in the flour and fold into the mixture along with the blended beetroot.

Keep folding until well combined and then divide the mixture out between the two tins.

Bake the cakes in the oven for 35-40 minutes, until they are springy to touch and the cakes are coming away from the sides of the tin.

Once cooked, leave to cool in the tin and then tip out onto a wire rack until cooled completely.

While the cake is cooling, sift the icing sugar into a large bowl and whisk together with the butter and the cream cheese.

Spread half the icing in the middle to sandwich together and then spread or pipe the remaining icing on the top.

Finish with some sprinkles or just enjoy as it is!

9 thoughts on “All Natural Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Looks scrumptious! I love that you are conscientious about food colourings as well…(I also have a mother like yours!) Your pictures are great too, a little too good though…I think I’m going to need to make red velvet cake in the not so distant future!

Leave a Reply

