My Everything Cake – Ginger, Dark Chocolate and Walnut with Butterscotch Icing

This cake is my ‘everything cake’ as I literally put everything from my cake cupboard in it! I was craving a baking session and on inspection of the contents of my larder (my larder consists of a single shelf, but it sounds more foodie), I noticed I had multiple of bags of odds and sods that needed using up, and therefore decided to just throw them all together into this delicious cake. Some of the ingredients may seem a little strange, but as if often the case with whip up recipes, they really worked! If you don’t believe me then you will just have to try it for yourself.

Ski 022

For the Cake

  • 140g apricots
  • 100g stem ginger
  • 120g dark chocolate
  • 75g walnuts
  • 225g butter
  • 125g golden caster sugar
  • 100g dark soft brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 225g self raising flour

For the Butterscotch Icing

  • 60g butter
  • 6 tbsp full fat milk
  • 220g light soft brown sugar
  • 240g icing sugar
  • Handful walnuts – chopped to serve

Pre-heat the oven to 170’C

Grease and line 2 x 8” cake tins

In a blender, whiz together the apricots, ginger, chocolate and walnuts until well chopped – or just finely chop these if you don’t have a blender

Heat together the butter and two types of sugar until well combined

Leave to cool slightly and then whisk in the eggs.

Sift the flour and fold them mixture together with the blended fruit and nuts

Divide the mixture between the two tins and bake for 30-35 minutes – until the cake is springy to touch and is coming away from the sides of the tin.

Once cooked, remove the cakes from the oven and leave to cool for 10 minutes in the tin before tipping them onto a rack to cool completely.

Once the cake has cooled make the icing sugar by heating the butter, milk and sugar to boiling and then simmer for 3 minutes.

Remove from the heat and sift in the icing sugar in. Whip the mixture until thick and lump free.

Assemble the cake immediately by spreading half the icing on one cake and topping with the other. Spread the remaining icing on top and then sprinkle with some extra walnuts.

Leave the icing to set for 10 minutes and then slice up to enjoy with a big mug of tea.

16 thoughts on “My Everything Cake – Ginger, Dark Chocolate and Walnut with Butterscotch Icing

  1. It does look good… I did pretty much the same thing a few years ago when I was making muffins, using up all the odds and ends in my baking cupboard, mainly just to get rid of them. They were an instant hit, and now I make them all the time. I call them my “Everything But” muffins.

  2. Looks absolutely delicious! I love anything ginger – I’m so happy I’ve finally found a grocery store in my neighbourhood that sells stem ginger so I’m going to give this a go! (I’m also dying to try your Sticky Ginger Cake with Salted Caramel Icing.)

  3. Haha, that is how some of the best cakes come about isn’t it! This one looks incredible, so very moist and yummy. I would absolutely love to have a slice with a cup of tea right now, really not the best time to read your post when i’m already hungry and dinner is a few hours off!

    Jennie // Scarletscorchdroppers

    xx

  4. Pingback: My Everything Cake – Ginger, Dark Chocolate and Walnut with Butterscotch Icing | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

