Breakfast Eggs with Chorizo, Potato and Rich Tomatoes

This is my favourite breakfast in the World, that I enjoy on a regular basis and when I whipped it up this weekend a little voice in my head was saying I had blogged it before, but it turned out I haven’t. Considering we eat this on a regular occasion I can’t believe I haven’t yet shared it with you, maybe I was saving it for a special occasion, and today it that day. If you follow me on Instagram or facebook then you will have already seen the snaps of this little beauty. An old friend of mine recommended putting this into a wrap, and I think that’s a blooming marvellous idea (as a massive lover of wraps I can’t quite believe I haven’t yet tried it), this friend also has a really great blog so feel free to check it out for some awesome recipes at www.liveforthekitchendieforthediningroom.wordpress.com

Ski 116

Serves 2

  • 1 medium potato – peeled, cut into 1cm cubes and cooked in salty boiling water for 10 minutes
  • 75g chorizo – finely chopped
  • ½ red onion – finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic – crushed and finely chopped
  • ½ 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • Pinch oregano
  • ½ tbsp. tomato puree
  • Pinch sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • Parmesan – finely grated, to serve
  • Crusty bread – toasted to serve

Heat a frying pan to a medium – high temperature and fry the chorizo until the oil has seeped out from it and then add the onions to the pan and continue to fry for a few minutes to soften

Add the potato to the pan and fry for 5 minutes.

Stir in the garlic and stir for 2 minutes, not letting it brown

Add the tomatoes, puree, organo and sugar to the pan and simmer for 5 minutes to thicken slightly.

Season the mixture to taste

Make 2 wells in the tomato mixture and crack an egg into each

Fry until the egg starts to turn white and then transfer under a hot grill for 1-2 minutes, until the egg white is cooked through.

Remove from the heat and sprinkle over the parmesan

Plate up with your toast and enjoy.

Ski 114

9 thoughts on “Breakfast Eggs with Chorizo, Potato and Rich Tomatoes

  1. Yum. I’m not a huge fan of chorizo but I found one I like at a farmer’s market so will have to give this a go. I think it world be nice with fresh tomatoes too.

Leave a Reply

