Roast Chicken and Goats Cheese Salad with an Anchovy-Free Caesar Dressing

Its official, I am way too obsessed with my blog. I feel like I eat, sleep and dream my next meal – what food needs using up, what goes well with it, how it’s going to look, etc, etc; but there becomes a time in a food bloggers life when you can lose sight of what it really stands for. I started this blog because I wanted to share my love for food and show everyone how easy, fun and delicious home cooking can be. I wanted to inspire people to clear out their cupboards of jars of sauces and fridges of ready meals and get people in their kitchen cooking. Food should be about tasting great and making you happy; but the reality is that I’ve been keeping this recipe from you because I didn’t like the picture. Infact, there are several recipes that I have never shared with you because it didn’t look as good as it tasted – which goes against everything that I ‘apparently’ stand for.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love good pictures of food and aspire to get better at photography (which I also love), but just because a picture doesn’t look as good as it tastes doesn’t mean that the recipe isn’t worth sharing with you. So here you are, I may not like the photo but I LOVE the flavours in this salad – so make sure this goes on your to-make list, and don’t worry about it looking pretty!

024

Serves 6

  • 1 roast chicken – (either the Ultimate Italian Roast Chicken, Paprika Roast Chicken or Citrus, Garlic and Thyme Roast Chicken will work well with this dish) – sliced
  • 1 x bag of rocket
  • 1 x bag watercress
  • 2 x sweet gem lettuces – roughly chopped
  • ½ cucumber – sliced
  • 6 chunky slices bread – chopped into croutons and either tossed in the leftover chicken juices or in some good quality olive oil and roasted for 5-10 minutes (depending on size), until golden and crispy
  • Any leftover roasted vegetables from your roasting tin – roughly chopped
  • 300g soft goats cheese – crumbled

For the Dressing

  • 1 garlic clove – peeled and roughly chopped
  • Juice 1 lemon
  • ½ tsp English Mustard
  • 3 tbsp dbl cream
  • 3 tbsp light mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp white wine dressing
  • 3 tbsp parmesan – finely grated

Prepare all your salad ingredients and toss together in a large bowl (or two if your bowl isn’t big enough)

Plate up your salad and top with the roast chicken

Blend together all the ingredients for the dressing until smooth

Drizzle over the salad and enjoy.

10 thoughts on “Roast Chicken and Goats Cheese Salad with an Anchovy-Free Caesar Dressing

  1. I do the same thing when my images aren’t as technically sound as the majority of my work… It does show that you do care about the aesthetic which is important for the viewer at times…though naturally all of your food looks amazing and this dish is no exception!

  2. Oh, honey! If I worried about my food looking pretty, I’d never eat anything at all! And I agree with thecreativefoxden and memarose3, that DOES look both yummy and delicious!

  3. I think most food bloggers get where you are coming from. Some bloggers produce great photos, but all it really needs to do is be somewhat evenly lit and show what you are describing. As far as the, (fancy food show term), “plating” goes, maybe if you worked with smaller pieces instead of the whole? It depends on whether you feel having it whole is essential to the enjoyment or not. If so, maybe do something pretty with the interaction between the two and/or a little garnish? I don’t always plate superbly, but I’ve been watching far too many cooking shows lately…

  4. I feel your pain on the photography. I wish I was better at plating. But sometimes the recipe is just too good not to share!

  5. Pingback: Moroccan Roasted Chicken with a Carrot & Chicken Pea Salad, Homemade Flatbreads and a Creamy Paprika Sauce. | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

