Lime Drizzle Cake

Why can’t cake be good for you?! I have the same problem with cake as I do with cheese, in that I want to eat it ALL the time! I therefore try and make cakes that I can devise some sort of excuse to make them ‘good for you;’ like it contains lime, which counts towards your 5 a day; or I’ll make a butternut squash cake and claim it’s full of vegetables and so not as fattening as chocolate. These are of course all lies (just like wine and cider count towards your 5 a day – heellllllllloooo, they are totally make from fruit), but they make me feel better about stuffing my face and give me another reason to be inventive in the kitchen. Everyone enjoys a good lemon drizzle but it always baffles me why more people don’t bake a lime drizzle, it delicious (especially when you add a drop of rum to the mix)!

xx 124

  • 125g butter – softened
  • 175g caster sugar
  • Zest of 2 limes – juice of 1
  • 2 eggs
  • Pinch salt
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 175g self-raising flour

For the drizzle

  • 100g caster sugar
  • Juice 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp run

Preheat the oven to 160’C

Grease and line a standard sized loaf tin

In a large bowl – beat together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy

Add the eggs one at a time and then fold in the flour, milk, salt and lime

Tip the mixture into your lined baking tin and place in the middle of the oven to bake for 35-40 minutes. It will be ready once it is bouncy to touch and a cocktail stick comes out clean if inserted into the centre.

In a saucepan, gentle heat the sugar, run and lime juice until the sugar has dissolved

Pour this over the cake, while it’s still hot in its tin and allow to cool.

Once cooled slightly, tip out to cool completely on a rack before slicing up and enjoying with a big mug of tea.

12 thoughts on “Lime Drizzle Cake

  1. I definitely count wine toward my 5-a-day. Wine=grapes. Grapes=Fruit. Fruit=fruit salad. Fruit salad=salad. And thus I tell my fiance I had a salad for dinner…. 😀

  2. Anything that begins with “Why can’t cake be good for you?” has my name written ALL OVER IT! This looks so yummy! I always love to see your posts and I’m so happy I came across your blog in the WP world!! I’ve nominated you for the “Inspiring Blogger Award”. I hope you can take a look at the rules in my latest blog post when you have some free time.

    https://homemadewithmess.wordpress.com/

    //Alyssa K.

Leave a Reply

