Tuna & Sweetcorn Patties with Mega Mediterranean Cous Cous and Paprika Mayonnaise

I can’t be the only person that despises going to the supermarket when it’s busy. There is nothing that I find appealing about battling through rush hour traffic, to then park in the space a mile from the supermarket entrance, crash my trolley a dozen times and then queue for half an hour at the checkout. These days I more often than not think I’ll just make do with what I have in my store cupboard and freezer, and this dish is a classic example of doing just that. Don’t be put off by what might appear to be a strange concoction, because they can often make the most satisfying meals, and this recipe was officially delicious. It was so good that I even took leftovers for work and ate it for breakfast (yes my work colleagues officially think I’m strange)!

christmas 081

Makes 4 large patties (that will serve 4 or 2 greedies)

For the Patties

  • 2 x 120g tins of tuna
  • 1 x 400g Tin Canellini Beans – drained
  • 100g sweetcorn
  • 3 tsp capers
  • 1 slice slate bread, whizzed into breadcrumbs
  • 1 red onion – finely chopped
  • 1 chilli – finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic – crushed and finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 2 tbwsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp English Mustard
  • Salt and pepper
  • Golden breadcrumbs

For the Cous Cous

  • 115g cous cous
  • 1 vegetable stock cube
  • ½ red onion – finely chopped
  • ½ yellow pepper sliced
  • ½ courgette – grated
  • Handful pepperdew peppers – roughly chopped
  • Handful black olives – sliced
  • Small nob butter
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • Small handful chives – finely chopped

For the Paprika Mayonnaise

  • 2 heap tbsp. light mayonnaise
  • 1 small clove garlic – crushed and finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 tsp chilli sauce
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika

It a large bowl mash together all the ingredients for the patties (except for the golden breadcumbs) until well combined

Divide the patties into 4, roll into a flattish ball and then roll each ball in the breadcrumbs until well coated

In a burger press or by hand shape the balls into patties and then chill in the fridge for half an hour

White the patties are chilling, cook your cour cous according to the pack instructions with the stock cube.

Once cooked stir in the butter and the white wine vinegar and then stir in the remaining ingredients.

Set aside until ready to serve and mix together all the ingredients for the mayonnaise until well combined

Fill a large frying pan with ½ cm oil and heat to a medium to high temperature

Fry the patties for 3 minutes on each site until golden – they may need a little longer than this so use your judgement on the crispyness.

Plate up your cous cous, top with the patties and smear over a dollop of the mayonnaise

6 thoughts on “Tuna & Sweetcorn Patties with Mega Mediterranean Cous Cous and Paprika Mayonnaise

  1. I’ve pinned this so I don’t lose it (as I habitually tend to) and can give it a try! I personally love tuna and sweetcorn *anything*, but couls always make a seperate batch without the sweetcorn for the hubby, I suppose 🙂

    PS: I hate supermarkets too. They’re the perfect place to find me having some kind of meltdown/nervous breakdown. Fortunately I’m a home baker and so shopping is minimal when I have to actually go out and do it (but I love my Asda Home Shopping account).

Leave a Reply

