Sweet Chilli Salmon and Quinoa Salad with a Citrus Chive Dressing

Before this dish I was officially a quinoa cooking virgin, and I have to confess that I don’t think I had even eaten it before, as I definitely wasn’t prepared for it look quite so much like frog spawn. I call myself a healthy foodie yet I had never even eaten quinoa, that’s pretty shameful! So New Year, new food – I shall make it my mission to bring some new ingredients to the kitchen (teamed with the usual favourites of course).Frog spawn aside, I really enjoyed my first taste of quinoa, it was super filling without being stodgy and was fab for highlighting all the other (and most important) flavours in your salad. I did however end up making enough to feed an army so was eating quinoa salads for lunch the rest of the week.

christmas 007

Serves 2

For the Salad

  • 2 small salmon steaks
  • Salt
  • Juice1 lemon
  • 1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce
  • Enough quinoa to serve 2 – cooked according to the pack instructions
  • ¼ cucumber – finely sliced
  • Handful rocket
  • Handful mint – roughly chopped

For the dressing

  • 1 tbsp Greek Yoghurt
  • Juice half lemon
  • 1 tsp mayonnaise
  • Handful chives – finely chopped

Rub the salmon in a little salt

Heat a non-stick frying pan to a medium – high temperature and cook the salmon, skin side down for 3-4 minutes.

Squeeze the lemon over the salmon and flip the steaks over to cook for a further 1-2 minutes, or until the salmon is cooked through

Remove the salmon from the pan and set aside to cool before flaking apart and mixing together with the sweet chilli sauce

Whisk together the ingredients for the dressing

In a large bowl mix all the ingredients together until well combined

Plate up and drizzle with the dressing.

7 thoughts on “Sweet Chilli Salmon and Quinoa Salad with a Citrus Chive Dressing

  1. I too have trouble judging quinoa and couscous quantities – always end up with more than I need but they’re such a versatile base, they lend themselves to adding all kinds of stuff the next day! Have you tried bulgar wheat? Also a yummy salad base.

Leave a Reply

