Meatless Monday – Sundried Tomato Houmous

I LOVE Houmous! There is often nothing better than a big bowl of houmous with warm pita breads and crunchy coloured peppers, but there is one thing that confuses me about it and that’s the name; is it houmous or hummus? I usually rely on my trusted google dictionary to clear up my often incorrect spelling or pronunciation of foods but it appears that both spellings are correct, or am I going mad?! Is houmous vs hummus simply the classic English vs US dictionary, or is there another explanation to it? Can anyone out there help me clear this up once and for all and put me out of my houmous (or hummus) misery?!

Those of you that (quite rightly) just don’t care about the spelling, you will be able to enjoy this for what it is; quick, easy and delicious munch! Enjoy it as a healthy snack, a lunch box filler, great addition to a sandwich or a great accompaniment yesterday’s roast chicken recipe.

christmas 043

  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 1x 400ml tin of chick peas – drained and rinsed
  • 10 sundried tomatoes
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 small clove garlic
  • ½ tbsp. parsley
  • 2 heaped tbsp. tahini
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

Place all the ingredients in a food processor and whiz until smooth

Serve with toasted pitas and crudités

14 thoughts on “Meatless Monday – Sundried Tomato Houmous

  1. Reblogged this on NewVegan and commented:
    Here’s a quick hummus recipe ( Yep, I’m still fixated on snacking.) I have made hummus without the tahini when I was out of it. I’ve also used lime in place of lemons. I experiment with whatever I have on hand if it’s a flavor I like.

  2. Pingback: #FollowFridays – Food Bloggers Edit | Not Your Role Model

Leave a Reply

