Homemade Cranberry and Port Mincemeat

I think I may be cutting this recipe a little short of time, but as it’s the festive period I just had to share it with you. This is the first time I have made mincemeat, and I can’t for the life of me think why I have never made it before, its soooooooooooo easy! You just shove all your ingredients in a pan, give it a stir, dollop it into jars and hey presto!… Delicious homemade mincemeat for you to enjoy all over the festive period. Well, I say festive period, this recipe does take a bit of resting so you need to be making it, ermm… last week; but if you get in there ASAP then you will be able to enjoy some lovely warm home baked pies on Christmas day. Or what the heck, make it anyway and eat Mince Pies into the New Year – they will still taste just as delicious!

christmas 074

Makes 3 large kilner jars

  • 200g dried cranberries
  • 300g sultanas
  • 250g dried figs – roughly chopped
  • 130ml agave syrup
  • 2 bramley apples – grated
  • Zest and juice of 4 clementine’s
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 2 tsp ground allspice
  • 4 tsp ground ginger
  • 150ml port
  • 1 sprig rosemary – leaves picked and very finely chopped

Place all the ingredients into a large bowl and give it all a good stir until it’s well combined

Spoon the mixture into sterilised jars, seal and store for 2 weeks before eating and store for up to 2 months.

5 thoughts on “Homemade Cranberry and Port Mincemeat

  1. I thought for a second it said “Cranberry and PORK mincemeat” and thought you’d embraced your medieval side. Quite glad you didn’t as port sounds a far more appetising option 🙂
    I can’t believe I’ve never made mincemeat and I really should have done before now. Cue your recipe! Thank you.

  2. Yay, you made mincemeat, told you it was easy. I use an adapted Delia recipe with suet, I still have a jar from last year that’s survived, I’m going to do a compare and contrast to this years to see if it’s better matured!

Leave a Reply

