Chorizo and Sweet Potato Quesadillas

Chorizo and sweet potato has to be one of my favourite flavour combo’s ever. So much infact that I have just realised this will be my third post with a sweet potato and chorizo marriage. So if you love it as much as I do then you should also try my Chorizo, Goats Cheese and Sweet Potato Filo Tart, or whip up an awesome side of crispy fried sweet potato and chorizo. You will also regularly see this combination in some great Mexican or tapas restaurants, but this recipe is evident of just how easy this is to whip up yourself. If you’re a whiz with your chopping skills then this meal could go from fridge to satisfying in under 15 minutes – but if however you are anything like me and often include the odd dance around your kitchen or sip of wine then I can’t guarantee you’ll have it ready quite so quickly. Either way, it’s still the perfect mid-week meal.

bbq 007

Serves 2

  • 2 small sweet potatoes
  • 125g chorizo – chopped into 1cm cubes
  • 1 red onion – roughly chopped
  • 1 green chilli – finely chopped
  • 2 large wraps
  • 2 spring onions – roughly chopped
  • 2 mini courgettes – as finely sliced as you can
  • 75g feta cheese – crumbles
  • 60g stringy cheese such as mozzarella or edam – grated

Bake your sweet potatoes either in the oven or the microwave. The time will depend on the size you use and you method of cooking. I pricked mine all over with a fork and cooked them for 6 minutes on the baked potato setting of our microwave, but they will obviously take longer in the oven

Heat a large frying pan and fry the chorizo – you shouldn’t need any oil as the chorizo contains a lot of fat and as you cook it the oil will release from the chorizo

Once most of the oil has been released from the meat add the onion and chilli to the pan and fry for 4-5 minutes, until the onion is soft.

Scoop out the sweet potato and add that to the pan, making sure it is well mixed in with the chorizo and the onion.

Lay out each wrap and divide the potato mixture between to two wraps – only spreading the mixture over half of it.

Top with the cheeses, spring onion and courgette

Fold the uncovered side of the wrap over the filling so you have a half moon and repeat this process with the other wrap

Heat a little oil in a large frying pan and place both the quesadillas in the pan and cook for 2 minutes

Flip the quesadillas over and cook for another 2 minutes on the other side.

If they aren’t quite crispy enough then continue to cook them for a minute on each side until they are to your liking.

Plate up and enjoy with heaps of salad.

28 thoughts on “Chorizo and Sweet Potato Quesadillas

  1. What an interesting twist with quesadillas! I’ve always loved them, but our hotel always churned out the most basic ones. I have to confess I’ve never tried this combo before, but I’m looking forward to seeing how good a marriage chorizo and sweet potato make.

  2. Pingback: Nutty Chorizo Egg Fried Rice Salad | Homemade With Mess

  3. This looks yummy! I’m glad I found your site, because you are educating me on all kinds of new food items. Ok, so call me a novice, I had no idea what a courgette was; however, now I know I eat them all the time! haha! 😀

Leave a Reply

