Sticky Lamb Sausage Rolls

I have now officially lost my pre-made pastry virginity. I always had it in my head that it was cheating to buy pastry and so have only ever made it myself – that was until time seemed to speed up and I realised that if I wanted to eat these delicious sausage rolls (or something of the like) then I would just have to bite the bullet and buy it, and I hate to say it but I think I’m converted. Don’t get me wrong, if I have several hours spare at the weekend then there is nothing I love more than to bake, but when it’s the middle of the week it is so much easier to just open a pack and roll.

I’ve wanted to make my own sausage rolls for ages, and I see them as more versatile than they may be given credit for. Don’t just stick in some sausage meat; spice it up with some weird and wonderful combinations and see just how versatile and delicious the sausage roll can be. This lamb filling went down a treat, and I have to say that they would kick the ass out of a Greggs pastry any day.

hhh 050

Makes 6 medium sausage rolls

  • 400g good quality mince lamb
  • Splash oil – for frying
  • 1 small onion – finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic – minced
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp mint sauce
  • 1 tsp fresh rosemary – finely chopped
  • 4-5 tbsp mint jelly
  • 375g puff pastry – ready rolled is quicker and easier than making your own.
  • Flour- for dusting
  • One egg – beaten

Preheat the oven to 200’C

In a frying pan heat the oil and then gently fry the onions until soft

And the garlic and stir for another minute

In a large bowl mix together the mince, onion mix, spices and mint sauce – get your hands dirty and make sure the mixture it well and truly combined

Roll out the pastry so it’s around 40cm by 25cm and then slice horizontally down the middle so you have 2 pieces each 40cm x 12.5cm

Divide the lamb mince into 2 and roll out on the floured worktop into two sausage shapes both 40cm long

Divide the mint jelly between the two pastry sheets and spread it out, leaving about an inch along the top and bottom edges bare.

Place the sausages along the bottom of each pastry sheet

Roll each long sausage up in the pastry and seal the edges with a little water – use your finger or a brush to apply it.

Place the sausage roll on a well oiled or lined oven tray so that the joint in the pastry is underneath.

Using a small knife cut each long pastry-wrapped sausage into 3 sausage rolls

Make a few little slits along the top of each sausage roll.

Brush the rolls all over with the beaten egg and then bake in the oven for 20 minutes, or until lovely and golden.

Served with heaps of salad and a dollop of chilli sauce

6 thoughts on “Sticky Lamb Sausage Rolls

  1. These rolls look delicious; and there’s nothing wrong with using pre- made pastry crust- sometimes you just don’t have the time for the real thing. Anyway, good recipe, thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Sounds gorgeous and I love lamb mince – usually make shepherds pie with it. But think these sound so tasty. And I always buy puff pastry, and usually shortcrust too even though it’s easy to make x

  3. I’m going to have to give these a try. Though I make pastry from scratch sometimes, I usually use pre-made because it is so convenient. I made sauteed mushroom, tomato, and mozarella puff pastries for a cookout last year and they were a huge hit. If I hadn’t used pre-made, I wouldn’t have had time to make them.

  4. You can take the easy way out sometimes! Time seems to be a commodity in such short supply for everyone that no one can do everything from scratch all the time…unless that is ALL they do. Take pride in the great work you put into the filling.

Leave a Reply

