Sweet Chilli Pineapple Pork

I always struggle with knowing what counts as a portion; seriously who decides how much a person should eat? People are taller, smaller, fitter and younger than each other, so when I put number of portions served I feel this is quite a vague statement. I can remember making a curry with a jar of sauce once (this was clearly a long time ago as that goes way against my food religion), and after eating it between two of us I read on the back that it was to serve 4. I also noticed the other day that 500ml bottles of coke give their nutritional information per 250ml portion – I’ve never met anyone that has bought a small bottle of coke to poor into a glass and share between two. So with this recipe, the manufacturer would probably tell you it’ll serve 4, but on all honestly it tastes so good that you probably would want to eat more.

hhh 021

Serves 3-4

For the Sauce

  • 1 chilli – roughly chopped
  • 1 thumb size piece ginger – peeled and roughly chopped
  • 200ml pineapple juice (taken from a tin and then pineapple used in the remainder of the dish)
  • 1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp light soy sauce

For the Dish

  • 1 green pepper – roughly chopped
  • 1 carrot – cut into thin strips
  • 1 onion – roughly chopped
  • 3 pork steaks – cut into slices
  • Splash oil
  • 1 tsp 5 spice
  • 2 tsp corn flour – made into a paste with a splash of water
  • 170g pineapple
  • Handful Coriander – roughly chopped to Serve
  • Rice (cooked to pack instructions) – to serve

Make the sauce by simply whizzing together the ingredient until smooth

In a large saucepan or wok, heat the oil and fry the pork strips for 5 minutes, or until cooked through

Remove the pork steaks from the pan and set aside while you fry the onions and peppers for 3-4 minutes to soften.

Return the pork to the pan and toss the mixture together for a minute or so with the 5 spice.

Add the sauce, along with the corn flour paste and the pineapple and give it a good stir.

Let the mixture simmer for 10 minutes and then serve with the rice and a handful of the chopped coriander.

8 thoughts on “Sweet Chilli Pineapple Pork

  1. My husband and I often eat meals that are intended for 4 people. I think manufacturers make up the ridiculously small portions so their nutritional info doesn’t sound so insane. I remember eating a packet of instant noodles once which said that said serves 2. I guess it was because half the packet of noodles was almost 100% of the recommended daily intake of sodium!

  2. Mmm, this looks good. Totally feel you on the ‘portion control problem’. I’ll make big pot of soup at the beginning of the week for lunches, and after the hubs digs in, I come back and more than half of it has been eaten!

  3. I like this recipe very much! I know my husband will love it. Many times the” suggested serving sizes” are there to lead you to think that there are fewer calories, less fat, etc. than you should have. Most people don’ t bother with the fine print that tells you exactly what the serving sizes are, and that’s what the manufacturers count on. (Sorry I have been away from my blogger friends a great deal.I hope to be more active again.)

Leave a Reply

