Leek and Potato Soup

I always feel like there is something not quite right with posting a soup recipe in the summer; I think because I associate soup with being something warming and satisfying on a wet and miserable day. That being said, I do live in England and because we have regular downpour and anorak days soup can still be enjoyed throughout the year. Leek and potato is an absolute soup classic and if you have never tried it, firstly, where the hell have you been?! And secondly, you need to! Most recipes contain lashings of cream, but I honestly don’t find this a necessity as this soup is delicious without it. If you don’t believe me then you will just have to try it for yourself, and it’s even more enjoyable without the added fat content guilt.

aaa 079

Serves 3-4

– 2 leeks – roughly chopped

– 1 courgette – roughly chopped

– 1 white onion – roughly chopped

– 250g white potatoes – peeled and cut into small cubes

– 50g butter

– Splash oil

– 100ml white wine

– 1 ltr good quality chicken stock

In a large saucepan, heat the oil and cook the onions for 5 minutes, until softened.

Add the remaining veg and the butter and cook for 10 minutes, stirring regularly so as not to stick to the pan or burn.

Add the remaining ingredients, bring to the boil and then simmer for 20 minutes, or until the veg is soft.

Blend the ingredients so that it is lovely and smooth and then return to the heat and season to taste.

Once piping hot, serve with chunky bread and butter

15 thoughts on “Leek and Potato Soup

  1. I LOVE that you didn’t use cream! I never would have thought it was possible. I live in Washington, DC and it is 104 degrees of straight heat and humidity here – but next cool, rainy day I am definitely making this!

  2. I like soup, especially the kind that takes less than an hour to prepare. I like cold soups, also, because the health benefits are higher. Potato soup is one of my favorites, despite the bad publicity potatoes get. There is potassium and good taste! Great recipe. Blessings to you…

  3. Oh, all right. You have inspired me. I am getting out of my bathrobe, jammies and fuzzy slippers and into some real clothes for a run to the supermarket for the missing ingredients. Your recipe is gonna be my breakfast! If there’s any soup left by the time my hubby comes home from work, I may not even share it. I am retired, so I do what I wanna do . . .

      • Trust me. It’s good to be weird. And crazy. Have you ever observed people who swear they have “normal” brains??? I rest my case (wink, wink). I’ll even eat chicken wings for breakfast. Anything goes in this life. As long as you are a good person, the world is yours.

Leave a Reply

