Spiced Rum and Lime Layered Sponge Cake

I have talked quite a lot in the past about the difficulty to baking when there are just two of you to then eat your creations; well I have now found a way around this issue. All I need to do is time my baking around when we either have people to visit or go away to stay with friends and family. This time round there was no wasted or stale cake as it all got gobbled up by Sam’s family. As we have very few weekends alone I think this is the perfect excuse to do more baking; if you ever needed an excuse that is.

 

aaa 001

For the cake

–          6oz butter – softened

–          6 oz golden caster sugar

–          6oz self-raising flour

–          1 tso baking soda

–          3 eggs

–          2 tbsp spiced rum

–          Zest 3 limes and juice of 2

–          1 tsp vanilla essence

For the Icing

–          3.5oz butter – softened

–          18oz icing sugar

–          Juice 1 lime

–          Pinch salt

–          3 tbsp spiced rum

–          Dark Chocolate – to decorate

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Grease and line 2 x 8” cake tins

Beat together the sugar and the butter until pale and fluffy

Beat in one egg at a time and then fold in the remaining ingredients

Divide the mixture between the two prepped tins and bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes – until the sponge has come away from the sides slightly and springs back to your touch.

Set the cake aside to cool in their tins and then tip them out to cool completely on wire racks.

While the cake is cooling, beat together all the ingredients for the icing and set aside or chill until needed

Once the cake is cool use ½ the icing to sandwich together the sponges and then using a pallet knife, spread the remaining icing neatly over the top.

Sprinkle over the grated dark chocolate to decorate, slice and enjoy.

16 thoughts on “Spiced Rum and Lime Layered Sponge Cake

  1. Sounds delicious! And I know exactly what you mean about baking and not having enough people to eat it. Around here, we’re pretty much forced to eat things before they go stale, lol.

  2. I love to bake and will usually slice cakes into serving size portions, wrap each piece and freeze. Then, we’re able to have fresh tasting desserts anytime. As an added bonus, we usually have a variety of different baked goods to suit individual appetites.

  3. I TOTALLY understand that problem- and I have three other people living with me! It’s to the point now where before I decide to try out a new baking recipe, I have to ask my family “Will you actually eat this is I bake it?” I hate wasting food, so I have to have a general consensus lol Great recipe, this sounds great 🙂

  4. It looks delicious as usual all of your creations! Yes I go along with you when I bake something for two of us there is the danger we have to eat the whole cake which make us fat…but luckily we also have a nice social life and there are many students in our department who are always hungry…so thanks for the recipe

Leave a Reply

