Teriyaki Pork

I absolutely love teriyaki dishes, infact my guilty pleasure is a subway chicken teriyaki sandwich (with southwest sauce, cheese and loads of salad and olives – kindsa take the Japanese away from it). Traditionally it is cooked in Japan with fish, but as my freezer was full of pork then pork this dish became; although it would be lovely with some fresh tuna or mackerel. I have made teriyaki in the past and was inspired to make it again after going to a friend’s house for dinner. I’m so glad I did, as I had forgotten how delicious teriyaki is and I have to say it will definitely be on the menu again soon.

p.s. it also goes really well with my prawn toasts

BBQ 063

Serves 2

–          3 tbsp light soy sauce

–          1 tbsp sesame oil

–          1 tbsp soft brown sugar

–          2 tbsp sherry

–          1 tbsp rice wine vinegar

–          1 clove garlic – crushed

–          1 tsp dried ginger

–          Pinch chilli flakes

–          2 pork steaks

–          100ml pineapple juice

Mix together all of the ingredients except the pineapple juice and leave marinate the pork in the mixture for at least an hour.

Heat a frying pan to a medium-high temperature and tip the pork into the pan, along with all the juices

Fry the pork for 5 minutes, and then turn it over and pour in the pineapple juice.

Bring to the boil and then simmer for 5-7 minutes until the sauce has reduced and thickened.

Serve with some pineapple rice and Chinese style vegetables

6 thoughts on “Teriyaki Pork

  1. Yum, looks delicious! I’ve never made my own teriyaki sauce, but it looks simple enough that I’ll have to give it a go! Plus, this looks like a great way to use up leftover pineapple juice (a lot of the recipes I have call for drained pineapple, leaving me wondering what to do with the juice so as to not let it go to waste).

Leave a Reply

