Homemade Prawn Toast

I have to say I think prawn toast is my favourite item on a Chinese menu, and now I know how easy it is to make it will definitely be a regular of our menu. This was one of those dishes that I was genuinely proud of how awesome it was, and Sam was a huge fan too. So much so that he saw I had got some prawns out to defrost a week later and was pretty excited by the prospect of prawn toast again; sadly I had got them out for a different dinner, and I have to say I wish I had made prawn toast instead. I hate to admit it but I took my creativity and using up of leftover a little too far with these unfortunate prawns, and made a dish that I found grossly inedible; infact I cried, and then we had cheese on toast instead. Lessons learnt – if you have a bag of cheap prawns in your freezer then make this prawn toast, as there really is no better justice for these little fishies!

 

BBQ 046

–          100g prawns

–          1 small garlic clove – peeled and roughly chopped

–          1 egg white

–          2 tsp hot chilli sauce

–          1 tsp corn flour

–          1 spring onion – topped and tailed and roughly chopped

–          Salt and pepper

–          1 tsp fish sauce

–          3 slices white bread

–          Sesame seeds

–          Oil – for frying

Whiz all the ingredients together (except for the bread and the sesame seeds) in a blender until you have a paste

Divide the paste into three and spread over each slice of bread, making sure the entire area of the slice is covered

Sprinkle over the sesame seeds so you have a good coating

Heat 1-2 inches of oil in a frying pan to a high temperature and fry the toast for no more than a minute on each side

Remove from the pan and drain on a sheet of kitchen paper before serving with sweet chilli sauce.

11 thoughts on “Homemade Prawn Toast

  1. When I was a kid, I went to a church where the congregation was something like 40% 1st or 2nd generation Chinese immigrant. When I was ten my family got invited to a traditional Chinese wedding, and I was super psyched cause sweet and sour pork was, like, my all-time favorite food ever.
    I cried that night.
    Food came out on the table with their heads still attached.
    There were eyeballs in the soup.
    There were so many goddamned vegetables, and none of those delicious almond cookies.
    Actual chinese food is so different from Western Chinese food.
    What I’m interested in now, since this post, is the difference between American Chinese Food and British Chinese Food.
    Because I have eaten a metric ton of take-out, and I have never, ever heard of prawn toast. Swap menus, sometime?

  2. I’m chinese and honestly have never heard about prawn toast until I read this post lol. I think it wasn’t popular in my country, or perhaps it’s me who don’t go out enough. I think I’m going to try this out in the near future, this looks easy and delicious

  3. These look so good & I love your food pics! Thank you for stopping in at gullycreekcottage.com, I appreciate it and hope you follow along! Keep posting yumminess, I will be back! Belle

  4. Pingback: Teriyaki Pork | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

