Spicy Chorizo, Sweet Potato and Mixed Bean Soup

I thought it time that I drift away from my carb and cheese recipes and spice things up a bit (excuse the pun.) For this recipe you will want to use the hottest chorizo you can find, if it’s not that spicy then perhaps add a chilli or two, as this soup is awesome with a good kick to it. I hate to say this after avoiding to give you a recipe without carbs or cheese in it, but what tops off this soup is if you serve it with some crusty bread and some grated emmental cheese – I told you, bread and cheese make the World go round. If however you want to keep it on the healthy side, it is still delicious served steaming hot on its own; I just can’t guarantee you won’t be going back for an extra bowl or two.

Epernai 192

 

Serves 4-6

–          150g spicy chorizo – finely chopped

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          3 stalks celery – topped and tailed, de-stringed and finely chopped

–          1 small sweet potato – peeled and chopped into 1cm pieces

–          1 white onion – finely chopped

–          3 cloves garlic – crushed and sliced

–          400g tin chopped tomatoes

–          300g tin cannellini beans – drained

–          400g tin kidney beans – drained

–          6 stalks kale – roughly chopped

–          1 tsp ground coriander

–          1 tsp oregano

–          2 pints good quality chicken or vegetable stock

–          1 tbsp tomato puree

–          1 tsp marmite

–          Black pepper – to taste

Preheat the oven to 160’C

In a large saucepan or casserole pot, heat the oil and the fry the chorizo until it has a slightly crispy edge.

Add the onions to the pot for 2 minutes to soften slightly and then add the remaining vegetables, potato and the garlic.

Cook for 5-7 minutes, stirring regularly and then pour the remaining ingredients into the pot.

Bring the mixture to the boil, cover and place in the oven to cook for at least an hour – the longer the better.

Serve hot with a lovely crusty baguette and butter (and some cheese if you are addicted like me.)

8 thoughts on “Spicy Chorizo, Sweet Potato and Mixed Bean Soup

  1. A girl after my own heart. High five for sweet potatoes. I think my last 3 blog entries have used sweet potatoes in some way, shape or form. I could probably eat those things forever! I will definitely make this, though I don’t know the conversions. Maybe I”ll guesstimate and eyeball it 😀

  2. I was in Northern Spain a while back and discovered several variations close to this recipe. My favourite had the addition of ham pieces and chunks of black pudding.

Leave a Reply

