Banana Cake with Nutella Icing

If cake has fruit in it does it make it guilt free??!! I definitely live by that rule anyway, forget the butter and the sugar and the chocolate; bananas make this cake A OK. I also have that theory with wine, it’s made with grapes, grapes are good for you and therefore wine is good for you (I’m sure I will have nutritionists knocking down my door now). All that being said; this cake is incredibly naughty and is surprisingly quick and easy to make for such a show stopping cake. All you need to serve it is some napkins, a fork and obviously a large glass of wine!

dorset 151

 

For the cake

–          8oz sugar

–          8oz butter or margarine – I use stork

–          4 eggs

–          8oz self raising flour

–          1 tsp vanilla extract

–          2 bananas – mashed

For the Icing

–          4 tbsp Nutella

–          3.5oz softened butter

–          14oz icing sugar

–          1 tsp vanilla

–          2 tbsp soured cream

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Beat together the sugar, vanilla and butter until pale and creamy

Beat in the eggs, one at a time and then fold in the flour and the banana’s until well combined. Don’t over mix this as it will kill the air in the flour and you want it light and fluffy.

Grease and line 2 x 9” cake tins and divide the mixture between the two.

Bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes, until the cake springs back to your touch and it has come away from the sides.

Leave to cool in the tins and then tip out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

While the cake is cooling, mix together all the ingredients for the icing until smooth and creamy. Chill until the cake is cool enough to ice.

Use half the icing to sandwich together the two sponges and then finish off the top with either a palette knife to smooth out or you can always pipe the top.

Image

20 thoughts on “Banana Cake with Nutella Icing

  1. Oh yum! Now for the question: this is only the second time I’ve seen self-raising flour in a recipe. I’m assuming that it replaces baking soda and baking powder, but what is the advantage and can I replace the self-raising flour with plain flour and baking soda/powder?

    • You know what I think you may be able to. I was reading a bread making book at the weekend and it was saying that self raising flour does the same job and baking soda/powder does with plain, so you could give it a go. I have just been bought up using SR from a kid, and it is available everywhere here so I have never used anything different.

      • Thanks for the reply!

        I actually saw self-raising at the grocery store last weekend, I just don’t want to buy something that I’ll only use once. I think I’ll give regular flour with baking soda/powder a go though. Anything with bananas and nutella is a winner in my books 🙂

  2. I can’t let my girls see this!!!! If they know something this delicious exists and I haven’t made it for them yet, they are going to start thinking I don’t love them! It’s a must make!

  3. Beautiful! Since moving to Italy and no longer having access to “frosting,” I regularly use a similar nutella mix for frosting and cake toppings and now when I try the can frosting?? well….ick and yuk! I never realized how bad it was until I didn’t use it for a long time! Anyway…your cake looks not only super yummy…but super beautiful as well!

  4. love your theory. My favourite dessert involves sultanas, that’s why i eat as much of it as i want haha
    and this cake sounds and looks like a dream – yum!!

Leave a Reply

