Minted Lamb Scotch Eggs with Red Wine Chutney

Some of you may remember my quail scotch egg post a wee while back, and how I swore to take on the scotch egg World and see how many different variations I could try. Well, after this attempt I think I might have to re-think my vow. I am not saying these scotch eggs were not delicious, as they were quite possibly the best scotch eggs I have ever eaten, I just had such a mare trying to peel the eggs. It was probably all my fault, I think I may have started the timer a little too early on the initial boil, but that meant that when it came to peel them they were so squishy and soft that it was an absolute nightmare. I also would not be overestimating by saying it quite possibly took me close to an hour to peel three eggs, by which point I was pretty fed up, stressed, bored and on the verge of tears. So, as mighty as these were, I was officially traumatised by the whole egg peeling experience and it may be some time before I can face my fear again. So, my one word of advice would be to wait until the water is really boiling before you set your timer, and if you are making these for a picnic then give them an extra minute in the pan.

 

yum 041

Serves 2-3 (makes 3 scotch eggs).

For the Red Wine Chutney

–          Splash oil

–          ½ red onion – finely chopped

–          2 cloves garlic – crushed and finely chopped

–          1 red pepper finely sliced

–          7 cherry tomatoes – roughly chopped

–          150ml red wine

For the Scotch eggs

–          200g mince lamb

–          1 chilli – finely chopped

–          1 small carrot – grated

–          1 small bunch mint – finely chopped

–          ½ tsp cumin

–          ¼ tsp cinnamon

–          Salt and pepper

–          3 eggs

–          Handful plain flour

–          1 egg – beaten

–          White breadcrumbs – for coating

To make the red wine chutney, heat the oil in a frying pan and gently fry the onion, garlic and peppers for 7-8 minutes until soft – being careful not to let them burn

Add the tomatoes and cook for another 5 minutes, before pouring in the wine; leaving a splash until the end

Bring to the boil and then simmer for around 30-40 minutes, or until the sauce has really thickened.

Once it has thickened, add the remaining drop and cook for 1 more minute before turning off the heat. This can either be served hot or left to cool, either way it works really well with the scotch eggs.

Now you need to make the scotch eggs, by mixing together the mince, chilli, carrot, mint, cumin, cinnamon and salt and pepper, until well combined and set aside until needed

Put the eggs in a saucepan and cover with cold water. Bring to the boil and then continue to cook for 4 minutes.

Drain the eggs and cover with cold water. Once cooled, peel them very carefully

Set aside 3 plates or bowls, one with the flour, one with the egg and the final one with the breadcrumbs.

Once peeled roll the egg in a little flour and then take a third of the lamb mixture.

Flatten the mixture out on your floured hands and the place the egg in the centre.

Roll the mixture round the egg and pinch and gently rub around the edges to give it a smooth coating.

Roll the egg first in the flour, then in the beaten egg and finely coat well in the breadcrumbs.

Repeat the process with the other eggs and set aside.

Once ready to cook, heat a deep fat fryer, or a large saucepan two thirds of oil, to about 150’C and then cook for 4-5 minutes, until lovely and golden in colour.

Remove the eggs with a slotted spoon and roll in a sheet of kitchen paper.

Allow to rest for 2 minutes before slicing and serving with heaps of salad, cous cous and the red wine chutney.

10 thoughts on “Minted Lamb Scotch Eggs with Red Wine Chutney

  1. This looks soo good I must try it. I have really boring scotch egg memories so something like this is a great surprise. I will however take your tip and make sure the eggs are hard boiled.

  2. I’ve always considered Scotch eggs both daunting and more trouble than their worth. That was working from a recipe only, though.Seeing that poached egg in the center has changed my mind.

    BTW, I experimented a while back with poaching in the shell. If you add some baking soda to the boiling water, they peel much more easily.

  3. I have always wanted to make scotch but it seems like it would be difficult to get the egg to come out just right. I am going to try your method, the eggs seemed to come out perfect for you; Thanks for sharing.

  4. I haven’t had scotch eggs in ages and I have never had them made with lamb – had some nice ones made with smoked venison though. Next week we get our meat back from the butcher and I am going to make these, maybe with some little bantam eggs so the scotch eggs aren’t too big. Thank you for the recipes

  5. Pingback: Curried Scotch Eggs | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

