Slow Cooked Thai Chicken and Sweet Potato Curry

I guess this isn’t your stereo typical Thai curry. I usually associate Thai food as being quick and fresh, this on the other hand is different to that; it’s rich, deep and tender. I was almost tempted to call this a casserole, but then ‘Thai’ and ‘Casserole’ don’t really fit in the same sentence; but after this recipe I seriously think the rules should change. Maybe I just have too much of an obsession with my le creuset pan that I feel that 90% of my recipes should be cooked in it, but I just loved this recipe. It would also work really well in a slow cooker so if you have one then you should add this to your list of dishes to try.

zz 045

Serves 2-3

For the Curry Paste

–          35g fresh ginger – peeled and roughly chopped

–          1 stalk of lemon grass – peeled, topped and tailed and roughly chopped

–          1 red chilli – deseeded and roughly chopped

–          3 cloves garlic – peeled and crushed

–          ½ onion – roughly chopped

–          Small bunch fresh coriander

–          Juice 2 limes

–          ½ tsp cinnamon

–          Pinch chilli flakes

–          1 tsp cumin

–          4 tbsp fish sauce

–          1 tbsp tomato ketchup

–          ½ tbsp. hot chilli sauce

–          1 tbsp mango chutney

For the curry

–          1 sweet potato – peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes

–          2 green peppers – roughly chopped into 1 inch cubes

–          1 ½ white onion – roughly chopped

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          2 chicken legs – legs and thighs separated

–          ½ ltr chicken stock

–          4 kafir lime leaves

–          Fresh coriander – to serve

Preheat the oven to 160’C

Put all the ingredients for the curry paste in a food processor and blend into a smooth paste

Heat the oil in a large saucepan or casserole dish and fry the chicken until the skin is golden.

Remove the chicken from the pan and fry the onion for 5-7 minutes, until soft and then put the chicken back in the pan, along with the peppers and the potatoes.

Fry off for another 5 minutes, stirring regularly and then stir in the paste.

Cook for another 3-4 minutes, again stirring the mixture so as not to burn the curry paste

Add the remaining ingredients to the pan, bring to the boil and then cover and cook in the oven for an hour

Season to taste and serve with rice and fresh coriander

13 thoughts on “Slow Cooked Thai Chicken and Sweet Potato Curry

  1. Hi, love the look of this dish – will use my slow cooker. Just wondered how fresh the finger had to be (I’m assuming it’s human as I don’t think chickens have fingers?) and if you had any tips on how to stem the flow of blood after you have prepared the said finger.

  2. This looks so delicious! I can’t wait to try this. I love Thai food- check out my blog for some Thai inspired recipes (coming soon!)- I know I’ll be back here to drool at your recipes 😀

Leave a Reply

