Chicken and Mushroom Soup

You will probably have noticed but I have a tendency to pre roast my chicken rather than fry it. I find that this process makes the chicken more flavoursome and shredded chicken has a really great texture to it, especially in soups. I also find that it is much more economical way of cooking chicken, as a heap of shredded chicken goes much further and looks like a lot more food than a few chunks. It could all be psychological but it you have never tried this method before then why not give it a go the next time you cook a curry or a chicken pasta sauce – I have a feeling you might be revolutionised!

new house 039

Serves 4

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          250g chicken

–          2 carrots – finely chopped

–          1 leek – finely chopped

–          2 cloves garlic – crushed and minced

–          1 white onion – peeled and finely chopped

–          300g chestnut mushrooms – sliced

–          1 bay leaf

–          1 tsp dried thyme

–          2 tsp English mustard

–          1 ½ pint chicken stock

–          250ml full fat milk (although semi skimmed will suffice)

Serves 4

Heat the oven to 180’C

Toss the chicken in a little oil and roast until cooked. If you are using a breast this will take about 25 minutes and about 15 for goujons. Once cooked, bash with a rolling pin and shred with your fingers.

While the chicken is cooking, heat the oil in a saucepan and gently fry the carrots, leeks, celery, garlic and onion for 5-7 minutes until the mixture has softened.

Add the stock, bay leaf, herbs, mushrooms and mustard; bring to the boil and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

After this time, add the chicken and the milk and then simmer for ten minutes to infuse all the flavours.

Season to taste, serve and enjoy.

17 thoughts on “Chicken and Mushroom Soup

  1. I do the same thing – pre-roast my chicken before adding it to chicken dishes, even chicken soup. I like the roasted flavor much better.

  2. That looks delicious! I also put roast chicken in my soups. I too prefer the flavour but also I do it for economical reasons – roast chicken on Monday becomes chicken soup on Wednesday and the carcass becomes stock sooner or later too.

  3. It sounds lovely and reminds me of the style of chicken soups I used to have when I was younger. These days I tend to use more Asian flavours for chicken soup and forget about the more traditional ones, which is a shame sometimes.

  4. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web page on a regular basis, this web page is really fastidious and the viewers are actually sharing nice thoughts.

Leave a Reply

