Blueberry and White Chocolate Cake

I have one issue with baking; that being that I am usually baking for just 2, and quite frankly if I baked all the time we would be ginormously over weight. I therefore often need an excuse to bake a cake. The last time I baked was because Sam’s parents were coming to visit; this time I was going to be working away at my old office, where I knew there would be lots of people that loved cake. One of the girls there is an incredible baker and I always joke that she needs to bake cake for my return, but this time I thought I should be the one to provide the treats; and what a treat this was. It was really simple to make, just a basic sponge recipe but with the added slightly healthy addition of blueberries, one could even say this contributes to your 5 a day (just ignore all the fat and sugar that goes into it). It’s also quite a show stopper of a cake and I promise it will go down a storm with everyone!

cake 007

–          8 oz stork – or butter

–          8 oz caster sugar

–          4 eggs

–          1 tsp vanilla essence

–          8 oz self raising flour

–          200g blueberries

For the cream cheese filling

–          150g Cream cheese

–          50g Butter – softened

–          1 tsp vanilla essence

–          50g Icing sugar

For the topping

–          200g white chocolate

–          Extra blueberries – for decoration

Preheat the oven to 170’C

Grease and line 2 x 8” cake tins

Beat together the stork and the sugar until pale and creamy

Stir in the vanilla and 1 at a time beat in the eggs

Fold in the flour mixture, being careful not to stir it too much and then fold in the blueberries

Divide the mixture between the 2 tins and bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes.

Test the cake is done by pressing it in the middle; it should bounce back to you and not sink. It should also come away from the sides and be golden brown on top

Once cooked leave to cook in the tins slightly before tipping out to cool completely on a wire rack

While the cake is cooling beat together the mixture for the cream cheese filling until smooth and creamy

Once the cake has cooled, sandwich together the sponges with the cream cheese frosting in the middle

Melt the chocolate either in the microwave for 1 minute or in a blow over some gently simmering water

Pour the chocolate on top of the cake and spread evenly

Decorate with the blueberries and then leave for the chocolate to harden before slicing and serving – although I have to admit it was pretty yummy when the chocolate was still runny, just make sure you have napkins to hand.

30 thoughts on “Blueberry and White Chocolate Cake

  1. I will let you in on a little secret… I love to bake! Yes I love my peppers, but I love to bake as well, and I will be trying this recipe because blueberries are wonderful to bake with and it looks incredibly delicious!

  2. Ahh I’m always cooking for just two as well and know what you mean about needing an excuse to bake a cake – although I think valentines might be a good enough excuse to eat the whole thing between just the two of us! 😉

  3. Pingback: Blueberry and White Chocolate Cake | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  4. Ok. It’s not fair. I love to cook…when I’m in the mood, but I never get as creative as this. Nor as decadent. And there you are, luxuriating in your slimness while I am wallowing in my cellulite! LOL I love blueberries and chocolate. Mmmm. Some more fuel for my fat.

  5. I am the SAME exact way. I love sweets, but baking a whole cake just for my husband and I seems a bit much. That’s why I stick to baking only for special occasions, e.g. birthdays, anniversaries, etc. The rest of the time I make small batches of no-bake, vegan desserts. My favorite to make are Vegan Brownies, so easy, so healthy, and you cannot tell that they don’t have refined sugars, flour, or dairy in them.

Leave a Reply

