Creamy Lamb, Squash and Chickpea Curry – a Made Up Masterpiece

I am not a curry expert to say the least and I always struggle to distinguish between different classic curry recipes. Until I was about 18 I would always chose a korma or tikka masala from a curry menu, simply because I didn’t really know if I would like anything else. Now that my passion for food has grown into a love and obsession, if we go out for curry’s I always go for a recipe I have never heard of before. I also chose these because the house specials tend to give more detail into what goes into them, because I guess they presume everyone knows what goes into a bhuna or a rogan josh. I am going to put my hands up and say that I haven’t got a clue what goes into them! I have loads of great Indian cook books and perhaps I should read them in more detail, but I just like to experiment with what I have in the cupboard and the fridge at the time see where it takes me. Because of that I can’t really give this much more of a name than ‘creamy lamb and chickpea curry’, boring ei?! I am therefore going to make it my mission to do some research into classic Indian recipes and so next time I can give you a more exciting name to give the dish the respect it deserves.

pasta 022

Serves 4

For the curry paste

–          3 cloves

–          1 tsp pink peppercorns

–          4 cardamon pods

–          2 tsp cumin seeds

–           1 tsp hot chilli seeds

–          2 tsp coriander seeds

–          1 tsp curry powder

–          1 red onion – peeled and roughly chopped

–          1 red chilli – seeds removed and roughly chopped

–          1 tbsp tomato puree

–          1 thumbsize piece ginger – roughly chopped

–          2 tbsp oil

For the curry

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          1 ½ peppers – sliced

–          ½ butternut squash – peeled and roughly chopped

–          2 onions – peeled and roughly chopped

–          3 lamb steaks – chopped

–          1 cinnamon stick

–          400g tin plum tomatoes

–          300g tin chick peas – drained

–          250ml lamb stock

–          1 tbsp mango chutney

–          150ml cream

Preheat the oven to 160’C

Lightly toast the cloves, peppercorns, cardamom, coriander seeds and cumin in a dry hot frying pan for 3 minutes until lightly coloured

Remove the seeds from the cardamom pots and place in a blender along with the rest of the curry paste ingredients.

Blend until smooth

In a large ovenproof dish (casserole pots are best), heat the oil and then fry the onions for 5 minutes until soft

Add the lamb and cook off until brown

Stir in the curry paste and continue to stir for 3-4 minutes

Add the remaining vegetable and cook for 5-6 minutes, stirring regularly

Pour in the tomatoes, chickpeas and the stock. Bring to the boil and then cover and cook in the oven for an hour and a half; removing to stir every half hour or so

Remove from the oven when the curry is lovely and thick and the vegetable are soft.

Stir in the chutney and the cream before seasoning to taste and serving with rice

13 thoughts on “Creamy Lamb, Squash and Chickpea Curry – a Made Up Masterpiece

  1. This looks DELISH! Have you ever heard of Penzey’s Spices? I order all of my spices exclusively through them. They have THE BEST curries and Indian spices EVER!!!! They have a special curry set you can buy…I highly recommend 🙂

  2. Hello @homemadewithmes, I was planning to give a try on your recipe here and I would like to substitute the cream as one of your ingredients into yogurt. Since yogurt contains low fat calories. 🙂

  3. looks great, I think its awesome when we can come with recipes which use up all the goodies already at home and come up with new combinations which taste great. I love experimenting like this too… of course the traditional recipes have their own place! 🙂

Leave a Reply

