Chinese Chicken Noodle Soup

When I said last week that I was on a soup diet I wasn’t lying; I just have a whole back log of recipes stored up for you that I couldn’t just give you soup soup and more soup, so you will be getting them in batches. This may sound crazy, but before this recipe I had never eaten Chinese noodle soup, let alone cooked it; but my how I have been missing out. This could even replace tomato soup as my new favourite, and for those that know me that is one serious statement!

What I also love about this soup is that it reminds me of Friends (the TV show), and I love anything that reminds me of friends. There is an episode when Joey has a soup audition and has to say ‘mmmmm soup’, but instead he can only say ‘mmmmm noodle soup’; and so whenever I hear about noodle soup I think of Joey’s stupidity and it puts a big fat smile on my face. I can also guarantee that whether you are a Friends fanatic or not, try this recipe out and you too will be saying mmmmm (Chinese chicken) noodle soup!

Christmas 095

Serves 3

–          2 small chicken breasts or 1 large

–          1 tsp light soy sauce

–          Splash oil

–          1 white onion – finely sliced

–          1 tbsp sesame oil

–          1 clove garlic – crushed and finely chopped

–          100ml sherry

–          ½ tsp ground ginger

–          1 star anise

–          Pinch chilli flakes

–          1 ¼ pint chicken stock

–          ½ tbsp. light soy sauce

–          ½ tbsp. dark soy sauce

–          75g ramen noodles – cooked according to the pack instructions

–          3 handfuls of sweetcorn

–          Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Roll the chicken breasts in the soy sauce and the oil and roast in the oven for 25 minutes

While the chicken is cooking, heat the sesame oil in a large saucepan and fry the onion for 2-3 minutes

Add the garlic for the last minute and then stir in the ginger, chilli flakes, sherry and star anise

Bring to the boil and simmer for a few minutes until the sherry has reduced by half

Add the stock and the soy sauces and simmer until the chicken is ready to come out the oven

Once cooked, remove the chicken from the oven and bash with a rolling pin so that you can pull it apart into shreds

Add the chicken, sweetcorn and noodles to the soup and cook for about 3 minutes

Season to taste and enjoy

8 thoughts on “Chinese Chicken Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

