Broccoli and Stilton Soup

It feels like an age since I have last blogged, and oh how I have missed it! So much has happened since my last post; there has been Christmas, New Year, loads and loads of travelling and visits with friends and family, and then to finish it off we have moved house. I am sad to say that the Bristol home of cider, cheese and flat life has now gone; but I’m incredibly excited to welcome our new life in Surrey, an actual house with lots of natural light. This year is set to be a great one and I am most excited about our herb patch (which Sam will lovingly plant for me, although he doesn’t know this yet) and many meals outside (when we eventually get some sunshine, and a Barbecue).

I am sure there are tonnes of people that have set New Year’s resolutions to eat healthier, shed a few pounds and exercise more; so what better recipe to give you than a delicious soup. I have to admit I made this a long time ago, with some left over cheese from our Christmas party that I was previously banging on about, but I thought it was it was a relevant post for the start of the New Year. Sam is away with work this week so I will be mostly living off scrummy soups (I am officially an addict) and this recipe will definitely be on my agenda; along with my Tomato, Basil and Spaghetti Soup, Mushroom Soup, Cream of Tomato, and my super filling Bacon Minestrone.

pie 034

Serves 3-4

–          225g potato – peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes

–          350g broccoli – roughly chopped into florets

–          1 onion – roughly chopped

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          1 ¾ pints of hot vegetable stock

–          Splash white wine

–          150g blue cheese – grated

–          Salt and pepper

–          Cream of crème fresh to serve

Heat the oil in a large saucepan and fry the onion until soft.

Add the potatoes and fry for 5 minutes, stirring regularly to prevent them sticking to the pan

Pour in the hot stock and add the broccoli to the pan.

Bring the pan to the boil and then simmer for 12-15 minutes until the broccoli and potato are soft.

Remove from the heat and blend until smooth

Return to the heat and add the blue cheese and the wine and stir until the cheese has melted into the soup

Season to taste and serve hot with a hearty drizzle of cream and crusty dippy bread.

9 thoughts on “Broccoli and Stilton Soup

  1. Oh yum! It’s such a great combination, and Stilton is a great cheese as a little goes a long way. We’ve been living off soups … it definitely the way to go!
    Good luck with getting that herb garden 😉

Leave a Reply

