Chilli, Garlic and Herb Marinated Olives

Olives must be one of my favourite things to nibble. Funnily enough I couldn’t stand them until I was about 20. When I was at college I used to work at this most fantastic farm shop (if you are ever in Nottingham you must check out Gonalston Farm Shop) that had such a mouth-watering selection of olives, and I wanted so badly to like them, but I just couldn’t stand the things. It wasn’t until I was in Barcelona that I decided to force myself to like them. I bought some giant, juicy marinated green olives and one by one forced them down my throat until I found them bearable. With each olive I ate my hatred of them became less and less and now I LOVE them. I do however find that the really tasty marinated olives tend to be quite pricey, so I just buy a cheap jar and marinate them myself; they are cheaper and way tastier. I promise if you bring these babies out at your Christmas party they will go down a storm!

party 017

–          2 garlic cloves –  crushed

–          Good pinch chilli flakes

–          1 tsp rosemary – finely chopped

–          1 tbsp flat leaf parsley – finely chopped

–          1 tbsp white wine vinegar

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          250g green olives

–          5 sundried tomatoes – roughly chopped

Mix together all the ingredients and give it a good stir so well combined

Leave to marinate overnight and then give another good stir before serving.

19 thoughts on “Chilli, Garlic and Herb Marinated Olives

  1. Love olives of any kind but agree that it took some time to come to that realization! I have cured green olives from scratch but not tried marinating them in herbs, etc so thank you for sharing this recipe… Will definitely be trying it out!

  2. Hey! I’m in the process of forcing myself to like olives too. A fancy chef told me that to be a real chef I had to like olives, and that when chefs dislike something, they get over it by forcing themselves to it every time it’s available. Here goes nothing. Your marinated olives look pretty palatable. 🙂 Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

