Beetroot Chocolate Brownies

Beetroot is a little like marmite, people tend to either love it or hate it. That is however until you mix it with chocolate and then it takes on a totally different flavour, which can be enjoyed by even the avid beetroot hater. I’m not going to lie, I am only a fan of beetroot when it is mixed with something else; for example I love it with horseradish in a hummus, but roasted as chips or sliced in a salad I struggle to eat. That being said I still buy it because the colour is beautiful, but it does tend to just wallow in our fridge for weeks until it looks very sad. The beetroot we had was looking so sad that I just had to do something with it, and the only option I could come up with was something sweet; and the very sad looking beetroot managed to make me very happy indeed!

Warning!! If you are a fan of rich and sticky brownie, then you will not be able to resist this recipe!

kj 022

–          80g butter

–          120gml corn oil

–          250g good quality dark chocolate

–          200g golden caster sugar

–          3 eggs

–          60g plain flour

–          30g cocoa powder

–          Half tsp baking powder

–          Pinch salt

–          225g cooked beetroot

–          75g raisins – soaked in dark rum

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Grease and line a 20x20cm baking tin

Melt the butter, oil and the chocolate gently in a bowl over simmering water and stir until melted.

Once melted, set aside to cool slightly

Whiz the beetroot in a blender until pureed.

Whisk the eggs and sugar together in a large bowl until they are paler in colour and increased in volume

Once cooled, fold the chocolate mixture into egg mixture and then sift in the flour, baking powder, cocoa powder and salt.

Fold the beetroot puree and the raisins into the mixture until everything is well combined

Pour the mixture into the tin and bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes until you have a slightly firm top to your brownie, but it is still bouncy and soft to touch.

Allow to cool in the tin before tipping onto a wire rack to cool completely. My brownie actually broke when I tipped them so it may be worth slicing them when they are in the tin and then remove them.

17 thoughts on “Beetroot Chocolate Brownies

  1. I haven’t used beetroot to make anything sweet yet, but totally makes sense and agree with you the color is so amazing. Thanks for the recipe! I really like beetroot, specially cold in a salad with some feta cheese and a little olive oil. It also makes a beautiful dip if reduced, with a little heavy cream, salt and pepper. Maybe mint goes well with it too?

  2. I love beetroot! In fact I may end up buying beetroot tomorrow because of your post. I never ever ever thought of putting beetroot in a brownie though. This recipe is now a part of my bookmarks list ;). I’m looking forward to trying it!

  3. That is a brilliant idea. Like you, I can’t endure beets unless they’re mixed with something else. Beetroot grows throughout the winter where I am, so I will give this recipe a try over the coming months. I will not inform the children there is beetroot in the brownie mix until they’ve scarfed them all down all the goods and licked the pan clean.

Leave a Reply

