Rack of Lamb with Broccoli Mashed Potato, Parsnip and Shallot Puree and a Red Wine Reduction

I have had a lovely girly weekend catching up with some great friends, and I have also managed to fit in some cooking and lots of glasses of prosecco. My friend didn’t arrive until late on Friday, which gave me plenty of time to try and cook a master piece. I wasn’t sure what to make so I took a trip to the supermarket on the way home for some inspiration from the discount yellow sticker section. I was well any truly in luck, as I arrived just as it was being re-stocked. I managed to get this delicious rack of lamb, 4 salmon steaks, a pack of mince, lamb steaks, and three different sorts of cheese, all for better than half price; it was officially my idea of heaven! So rack of lamb got put on the menu, and I have to say it is possibly one of my favourite things to eat in the World. All the flavours of this dish worked really well, and I have to say I had to take some inspiration from when I made it last time, as when I’m cooking for others I have to go for something that I know will work and they will like, so I stay away from being too adventurous.

I also got too involved in catching up and gossiping, which meant that I slightly over-cooked the lamb to my taste and the sauce split, but this didn’t spoil the meal as it was still pretty damn tasty!

lamb 004

Serves 2

For the red wine reduction

–          ½ pint red wine

–          ½ pint chicken stock

–          1 bay leaf

–          1 star anise

–          1 sprig rosemary

–          Pinch sugar

For the potatoes

–          375g potatoes – peeled and sliced

–          120g broccoli

–          1 sprig rosemary

–          30g butter

–          Salt and pepper

For the Parsnip and Shallot Puree

–          2 parsnips – peeled, cored, chopped and cooked

–          100g shallots – peeled and chopped

–          30g butter

–          300ml chicken stock

–          100ml double cream

For the Lamb

–          1 x 275g rack lamb

–          1 tbsp  oil for cooking

–          Salt and pepper

–          Fresh peas

Put all the ingredients for the red wine reduction in a pan, bring to the boil and then simmer until it has reduced by three quarters, this should take about an hour

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Cook the potatoes in boiling salty water with the rosemary for 20 minutes, until soft. 10 minutes before the potatoes are due to be finished; remove the rosemary and add the broccoli to the water to cook.

Drain the potato and return it to the heat to get rid of the excess moisture.

Mash the potato and the broccoli with the butter and the salt and pepper until smooth

Divide the potato between 2 ramekins and cook in the oven for half an hour to crisp

In a saucepan, heat the butter and cook the shallots until soft.

Add the cooked parsnip and the stock and cook, uncovered until all the stock has been absorbed, and then reduce the heat and stir in the cream

Blend the parsnip mixture until smooth and set aside until needed. You can heat this back up a few minutes before serving

To cook the lamb, heat the oil in an oven proof frying pan until really hot.

Season the lamb all over with salt and pepper

Fry the rack of lamb on both sides to brown and then transfer the pan to the oven and cook for another 15 minutes. The time will vary depending on the size of the lamb and how you like it. Give it the same test as steak, so after ten minutes, give it a poke, the firmer it is the closer to well-done it is, so if it is quite soft and bouncy then it is more likely to be rare.

Once the lamb is cooked to your taste remove it from the oven, cover and leave to stand for 10 minutes before carving.

Once the lamb has rested, plate up with the puree, potatoes, some fresh peas (cooked for 2 minutes in the microwave in a pierced bag) and then drizzle over the red wine reduction

Image

10 thoughts on “Rack of Lamb with Broccoli Mashed Potato, Parsnip and Shallot Puree and a Red Wine Reduction

  1. If your sauce splits just add a touch of cornflour or butter and it will re-emulsify. Lamb wise, I think over is better than under. I use a digital thermometer, £15. Best gadget I have in the house.

    Dinner still looks superb, I’d scoff that in seconds if I had that for my Sunday dinner tonight.

Leave a Reply

