Lamb Chop One Pot

It is very rare that I will make a one pot dish, I too often get carried away with a little bit here and a little bit there, and then poor Sam has to spend hours cleaning up after me. Recently I have been having a super busy time at work and have been working much longer hours than normal; this has resulted in me cooking more basic and easier dishes, as I have been getting home too late and tired to perform a master-piece. I also luckily had a vast back-log of recipes that I have been able to dip into and use, but these are now running out. It is however getting colder and darker and the summer holidays are well and truly in the past, so I’m sure most of you won’t mind some simple one pot recipes coming your way. This is a great classic of a one pot, and has a really great flavour combination, as well as being full of veggie’s and really filling. I have always been a big lover of lots of sauce but this didn’t really need it, the meat was juicy and the mint sauce, lemon juice and natural liquid from the vegetables made the whole dish really moist. If however you crave something on the side then I would suggest a really minty tzatziki or a dollop of red currant jelly.

IMG_1230

Serves 2

–          1 large (or 2 medium) baking potatoes – peeled and cut into 2cm chunks

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          100g cauliflower – cut into small florets

–          ½ courgette – roughly chopped

–          1 red onion – sliced

–          1 tbsp lemon juice

–          1 tbso extra virgin olive oil

–          1 pinch cinnamon

–          ½ tsp cumin

–          ½ tsp coriander

–          4 chunky lamb loin chops

–          1 tbsp mint sauce

–          Salt and pepper

–          Handful of Peas

Preheat the oven to 190’C

Toss the potato in the oil in an oven proof dish and roast in the oven for 15 minutes

Mix together the extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, cumin, cinnamon and coriander and stir into the roasting pot, along with the courgette and cauliflower. Place in oven for ten minutes

Rub the lamb chops with salt and pepper, place on top of the veg, along with the red onion and roast for 20-25 minutes; depending if you like them pink on not. Turn the lamb chops and stir the veg half way through.

5 minutes before the lamb is due to come out the oven stir in the peas

Once cooked, remove from the oven, stir in the mint sauce and enjoy 😀

12 thoughts on “Lamb Chop One Pot

  1. I love one pot recipes, since I make such a mess with more than one. Usually I dirty up every pot in the kitchen, and almost every bowl, so if I can just dump it all in one pot I love it. Been trying to dump everything in the crock pot lately to make it even easier, and with a crock pot liner there’s really no cleanup to speak of.

  2. I love one pot cooking. It facilitates day dreaming, something that I thoroughly enjoy doing on days that I have some time. Watching a the works of it form beginning till end is an alchemy in the art of stewing or braising. Thank you for sharing.

  3. This looks lovely and makes me want to make a stew soon. Do you have a recipe for beef cobbler or just for those scones which top the stew?

Leave a Reply

