Strawberry, Vanilla and Coconut Crumble

I have grown up with crumbles being the common Sunday pud in our household, infact I think it was probably the first pudding I ever made with my mum. They are so scrummy and comforting and a great way to use up slightly over fruit; one could say they contribute to your 5 a day, it’s just a shame they are also filled with butter and sugar too. I think because I have been making crumbles since I was small I took for granted that the topping actually requires a little thought and gentle handling. I discovered this because I asked Sam to crumble together the flour, butter and sugar and was then given back a bowl looking like pastry and the comment ‘is this ok?’, and no it was not ok!  I can’t blame Sam though, I need to improve my teaching skills and not presume that everyone has come from such a crumble obsessed family. That being said, the disaster was obverted simply by crumbling in some oats and coconuts to get the crumbly texture back, so it was still very delicious. All I would say is just be gentle when crumbling, and when your mixture looks like a crumble then it will be perfect, so stop with the rubbing then.

030

Serves 2

–          55g plain flour

–          ½ tsp baking powder

–          40g butter

–          50g Demerara sugar

–          1 tbsp desiccated coconut

–          35g rolled porridge oats

–          250g strawberries – roughly chopped

–          2 tbsp caster sugar

–          2 tsp good quality vanilla essence

Pre-heat the oven to 180’C

Divide the strawberries between 2 ramekins and sprinkle a tbsp. of caster sugar onto each of them, along with 1 tsp of vanilla essence and 1 desert spoon of water

In a bowl, rub together the flour, butter, baking powder oats and sugar. Be very gentle with this and use your fingertips; remember you are after a crumble consistency so don’t overdo it otherwise it will be more like pastry

Place the crumble in the oven and cook for 15-20 minutes, until the top is crispy and the juices starting to bubble through the top

Remove the crumbles from the oven and serve with hot custard or ice cream

Image

8 thoughts on “Strawberry, Vanilla and Coconut Crumble

  1. Thanks, this is very timely, my son was making crumble just a couple of days ago and this looks delicious. I’ve never seen baking powder in the crumble before though, is it really necessary?

Leave a Reply

