Sundried Tomato, Olive and Feta Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms

It’s quite ironic to think that I used to hate mushrooms and now I’m making whole meals based around them. My mum and Dad used to try and sneak mushrooms into their spaghetti bolognaise but that just meant I spend the majority of dinner time picking them out; they soon learnt just to chop them really big to save me the painstaking task. Thinking back, I actually can’t believe how fussy an eater I was as a child. I recon if I had told any of my family and friends that when I grow up I’m going to kill crabs and have a food blog they would have just laughed in my face, and probably have fallen over! I am so glad I grew out of my fussy eating stage, just because I was seriously missing out on so much amazing food, including these mushrooms.

The whole flavour combination of this dish works so well together, we had these mushrooms with steak and corn on the cob and I have to say the mushrooms were the star. They are the perfect light lunch or starter, but just be warned that if you have them as a side dish then they could well take centre stage!

023

Makes 3 large mushrooms

–          Olive oil

–          1 small courgette – grated

–          1 white onion – finely sliced

–          1 clove garlic – minced

–          1 slice wholemeal bread – lightly toasted and blitzed into breadcrumbs

–          1 tsp white wine vinegar

–          4 -6 sundried tomatoes – finely chopped

–          6 green olives – finely chopped

–          1 tsp oregano

–          50g feta – crumbled

–          Salt and pepper

–          3 large portabella mushrooms

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Brush the mushrooms with a little oil and bake in the oven for ten minutes

In the meantime gently fry the onions and courgette in a splash of olive oil for 6-7 minutes until cooked and then add the garlic for 2 minutes

Combine the remaining stuffing ingredients together and mash with a fork until well combined

Divide the stuffing into three and fill each mushroom

Return to the oven for 6 minutes and then serve with a side salad as a starter or as an accompaniment to a main, we had ours with steak and corn on the cob.

21 thoughts on “Sundried Tomato, Olive and Feta Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. Ok pleAse pass it through my pc screen, thank you! looks simply delicious to me. I like the combination of the ingredients that you put together. Always a aparty for my tummy 😀
    xo

  2. I have just recently figured out it isn’t mushrooms I don’t like. It was the squeak when they weren’t cooked properly…..
    btw…you always make hungry and you definitely fuel my creativity….THANK YOU 🙂

  3. Middle Mudlet can’t stand cooked mushrooms and like you used to, she will pick mushrooms out of a meal, although we do try not to give her any. That said she will happily eat raw mushrooms and pretty much every other sort of vegetable we put on her plate and so we can’t complain too much 🙂

    As ever, you recipe sounds delish and the picture looks yummy.

  4. I simply love mushrooms. They are not just healthy but after cod fish are the only eatable source from which we can have Vitamin D. Thanks for such a lovely recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

