Fresh Crab Pappardelle with Red Peppers, Chilli and Wine

So, I’ve been hampering on to Sam that I need to broaden my cooking range and experience by cooking more adventurous foods that I have never cooked before. I tend to just play it safe when I go shopping and buy the meat and fish that are on offer, or the best deals from the local markets; but this often means that I am cooking the same meat again and again.  After I had mentioned this to Sam he took a trip to the local fish mongers and I came home to an alive surprise in the fridge, in the form of this lovely snappy crab (as a mark of respect I am going to call him Colin!). I’m not going to lie, it took me ten minutes to even get Colin out the fridge, as every time he moved I screamed and had to start again. It then took a further ten minutes to pluck up the courage to put Colin in the pan of boiling water, at which point I cried, as I felt incredibly guilty that I killed him; but I guess if you want to eat these delicious things then someone’s has to do it!! Because of this traumatic ordeal that poor Colin went through I had to come up with a recipe that would do him justice and make sure that he was enjoyed to his full capacity, and I believe I did so with this combination.

You may have noticed that I will often go for a really strong and punchy sauce with pasta, but this time I wanted something subtle that would really enhance and work well with the flavours of Colin, and this was truly a delicious and delicate touch. I also strongly recommend that you do make your own pasta, as trust me, the texture and the taste cannot be matched with dried pasta, it is just no comparison. I also think you will be pleasantly surprised with how quick and easy homemade pasta is to make; I now make it more than I use it out the store cupboard and the meal satisfaction if 100 times better.

RIP Colin the crab, you did not die in vain!

crabbie 009

Serves 2

For the pasta (I would suggest doubling up this quantity so that you have some leftover to make another meal)

–          100g 00 flour

–          Pinch salt

–          ½ tsp chilli powder

–          1 egg

For the sauce

–          The white crab meat from 1 crab

–          Splash oil

–          1 red pepper – finely sliced

–          1 chilli – finely chopped

–          1 clove garlic – crushed

–          150ml white wine

–          Juice 1 lime

–          ½ tbsp fish sauce

–          Pinch sugar

–          Small nob of butter

–          Salt and peper

–          ¼ cucumber – cut into strips

Image

To make the pasta; sieve the flour, salt and chilli powder onto a clean worktop and make a well in the centre

Break an egg into the middle and then start to bring the flour and the egg together with your finger tips

Once the dough has come together knead it for 7-10 minutes until you have a smooth dough

Wrap the dough in cling film and chill for 20-30 minutes

To make the pasta split the dough into 2 and roll out until it is thin enough to roll through a pasta maker

Roll the pasta through the thickest settings, fold in half and then repeat this about 3-4 times before reducing the settings and feeding through the roller until you get to about setting number three and have lovely thin and smooth pasta.

With your strip of pasta simply slice in into strips about 1 inch thick and then cover until you need to cook it so it doesn’t dry out.

In a frying pan, heat the oil and gently cook the chilli, garlic and the peppers for 3-4 minutes until the pepper just softens

Add the wine, fish sauce and sugar and simmer until reduced by half

In the meantime, heat a pan of salty water with a splash of oil and cook the pasta for 2 minutes, strain and return to the pan.

Toss the pasta together with the chilli and wine sauce, the lime juice, crab and a good twist of salt and pepper

Plate up and enjoy 😀

Image

17 thoughts on “Fresh Crab Pappardelle with Red Peppers, Chilli and Wine

  1. Sounds delish!!
    I couldn’t help but laugh at Colin the Crap! 🙂
    I’d probably be calling him crap on purpose during the getting him out of the fridge drama, you did well!!
    Call me a noob, but can you roll pasta out without a machine sufficiently?

    • Hi,

      Yeah I would say so, I know lots of people that roll it out that don’t have a machine. So long as you have a big rolling pin and roll it as thin as you can that I recon that would do just as good a job.

      • Might have to give it a go then! 🙂 if it even resembles decent pasta I’m getting my hands on a machine stat!! I’m not a fan of dried pasta and rarely cook with it. Thanks for the post!

  2. I haven’t tried making my own pasta for about 20 years, when I didn’t do a good job of it, but you have inspired me to try making my own again and maybe now, with more cooking experience under my belt (just a few years eh lol!), I might do a better job!

  3. Pingback: Homemade Roasted Mediterranean Vegetable & Feta Cheese Cannelloni | Homemade With Mess

  4. Cheers for liking my Collateral Lettuce post about buffets! If you went to a buffet with choices from all over the world, what would you choose to have on one plate?

    Are you a fan of softshell crab?

  5. Pingback: 500 Blog Post Celebration (well, 501 now!) | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

