Salted Caramel and Peanut Praline Ice Cream

I can’t believe how many methods and ingredients there are to make ice cream. Before I got my ice cream machine I thought the base of ice cream was always cream and eggs and involved making a custard; how naïve of me! This is the third ice cream recipe I have posted that uses no such methods. My first two ice cream blogs didn’t even involve heating and one of them has no cream, so please check them out if you fancy an easier and lower fat recipe (just search ice cream on my blog).

As I have probably mentioned a million times before, I love salted caramel and will regularly use it in baking and puddings and so thought this combination would be a real winner in ice cream. I’m not going to lie, I asked Sam to go to the shop and get either pecans, almonds, hazelnuts or walnuts for the praline, but instead he came back with a back of peanuts! However I wasn’t going to give up on my caramel praline dream, so I made it with the peanuts and it was actually delicious (thank you Sam). This is definitely a recipe that you have to try!

lamb 018

For the salted caramel ice cream

–          170g caster sugar

–          225ml double cream

–          150ml semi-skimmed milk

–          4 egg yolks

–          ½ tsp sea salt

For the praline

–          25g caster sugar

–          50g honey roasted peanuts crushed

Heat a saucepan on the hob and once hot, put 140g of the sugar into the pan and heat until the sugar has melted and turned a lovely caramel colour. It is worth stirring this occasionally so that it doesn’t burn.

Add the double cream, bring back to the boil, and then finally add the milk. Don’t freak out if the sugar goes hard when you add the cream as it will soften again as it cooks.

Meanwhile, in a separate bowl beat the egg yolks and remaining caster sugar until pale and the consistency of mayonnaise

Pour the hot caramel on to the egg mix and whisk well.

Sieve the mixture and chill

While the ice cream is chilling prepare the praline by placing the sugar and nuts into a saucepan over a medium heat and cook gently, stirring regularly until the sugar has melted and starts to caramelised

Once golden brown, pour the mixture onto a non-stick baking sheet, spread out and leave to cool.

Once set, smash the praline into pieces – I find a rolling pin works a treat.

Once chilled, pour the mixture into an ice cream machine along with the salt and the praline and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

If you don’t have an ice cream machine you can put the mixture in the freezer and the whisk it every 20 minutes (you will need to be in most of the day)

Freeze in a plastic box with a lid and eat once set.

32 thoughts on “Salted Caramel and Peanut Praline Ice Cream

  1. gorgeous!!! had to laugh at Sam picking up peanuts. My husband would have done the same thing. Nuts are nuts, right? haha. Agreed about the many ways to make ice cream. Even did the custard up in the microwave once: http://wp.me/p2dvv9-Wn

    For sure will be making your salted caramel ice cream–it wears that slightly melted look well 🙂

  2. I think you just created ice cream heaven! My one addition will be a hint of cinnamon in the base. I love cinnamon, caramel, and peanuts together. It reminds me of those roasted nuts I got at the fair as a kid!

Leave a Reply

