Salmon Steaks with Crispy Fried Potatoes, Courgette Ribbons and Tomato and Paprika Mayonnaise

I saw the title of a blog the other day that saddened me by saying that saying ‘we eat to live, not live to eat’. I totally understand the point that we should not be gluttonous and over consume food but I am most definitely one of those people that lives to eat great produce and satisfying home cooked meals. Taking aside the people that I love, food and cooking are the most important things in my life. I don’t simply live to eat; food is on my brain every minute of the day, it is not only my passion but having my blog has turned it into a hobby and a major obsession. You don’t have to be an over indulger to live to eat but just enjoy cooking with great produce and whipping up some amazing creations that you can be proud of, and this meal is one of them!

012

For the courgette ribbons

–          1 courgette – peeled into fine ribbons with a potato peeler

–          Juice 1 lime

–          1 tsp white wine vinegar

–          2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

For the potatoes

–          Vegetable oil – for deep frying

–          8 new potatoes – finely sliced

–          1 carrot – finely sliced

–          1 red onion – peeled and finely sliced

–          2 cloves garlic – crushed

For the salmon

–          2 x 150g salmon steaks  – seasoned with salt and pepper

For the Tomato and Paprika Mayonnaise

–          1 clove garlic – crushed and finely chopped

–          1 tomato – finely chopped

–          ¼ tsp paprika

–          1 tbsp light mayonnaise

–          2 tsp lemon juice

–          1 tsp tomato ketchup

–          ½ tsp chilli sauce

Serves 2

Preheat the oven to 160’C

Make the courgette ribbons by simply combining all the ingredients together and then set aside until you are ready to serve

Fill a saucepan with about 1.5 inches of oil (or use a deep fat fryer if you have one) and once really hot fry the potatoes and carrot in batches until crispy and then transfer to an oven proof baking dish along with the onions and the garlic and roast for 15 minutes

In a frying pan, heat the oil until really hot and fry the salmon, skin side down for 3 minutes until crispy and then turn it over and cook on the other side for one minute.

Transfer the salmon to the oven and bake for ten minutes.

While the salmon is cooking, simply mix together the ingredients for the mayonnaise and then plate up all the ingredients once the potatoes and salmon are cooked

15 thoughts on “Salmon Steaks with Crispy Fried Potatoes, Courgette Ribbons and Tomato and Paprika Mayonnaise

  1. Definitely got your back on this one. I don’t believe we have to be overindulgent to “live to eat”. As long as the soul and passion goes into the preparation, sharing, eating, and enjoying (I’ll get off the soapbox now). 🙂

  2. I know what you mean, a friend likes a FB page that is “hungry, healthy, happy” it annoys me every time I see it, I love my food, it makes me happy, it does not always have to be indulgent, I enjoy a salad as much as the next person, I like variety though.

    • Agreed! And I hate “hungry, healthy, happy.” I may not look like a model, but I’m very healthy and certainly not hungry. If you have to starve yourself to be healthy, you’re doing it wrong.

  3. You preaching to the choir on this one! Food is an experience for me everyday…There is something about creating a dish, enjoying it, and even watching other’s enjoy it that brings me so much joy. I know, myself at times, can be guilty of eating more of a delicious sweet from time to time, and of course for many it’s much more challenging than that. I just can’t imagine taking the joy out of eating, especially healthy and delicious food!

  4. I live close to New Orleans. What this means is that when you are eating one meal, you are often discussing the next meal. Ironically, most of the cajun and creole meals meals are best consumed as…leftovers. Delicious when just made, they usually get better after sitting in the fridge and eaten as leftovers.

  5. Totally agree – one thing I also find hard to stomach (har har) is people cutting things unecessarily out of their diets because it is trendy, not because they need to. Be balanced and moderate by all means (that’s what I blog about mainly, after all) but life’s too short to go avoiding grains or gluten just for the sake of it.

  6. i agree. when cooking is something you LOVE to do, like i do, you look forward to it and put aside time for it and in a way you do live to cook. it doesn’t mean you’re being gluttonous, you just enjoy what you’re putting in your body and i think you should! why not??

  7. i agree with you TheFreshFresher- i also don’t believe in cutting things out of your diet (things that you like) just because they are bad for you or someone tells you they are. just moderate how much of something you consume. enjoy all the wonderful variety of things to be eaten

  8. Love the zucchini ribbons. I have about 6000 zucchini all trying to ripen at once. This time of year I eat them everday and I never get tired of them. Just because they are organic, though, doesn’t necessarily make them healthy. Ever tried deep fried tempura zucchini? Or in a nice zucchini bread with butter fresh out of the oven? Do I care they aren’t low fat? Hell no.

  9. I at times bounce between balancing eating out and actually cooking at home and eating great healthy foods. Although I do love a good burger 😉 This fall getting back to eating more salads and less red meat.

Leave a Reply

