Raspberry and Custard Cake

Cooking away from home makes you really appreciate the equipment that you have, and I never realised how much I love my oven! I think when you are so used to cooking with it every day you kinda get to know how long to cook things and at what temperature. It is then really easy to take this as the norm with every oven you cook in and unfortunately that is never the case. We have been visiting friends and family this weekend and I baked this cake in my Mum’s oven; which I set to the same temperature as I would have with mine and the timer for my usual length of time. Much to my surprise, when the beeper started shouting at me to check my cake, I opened the door to find quite a golden/almost burnt in places, well and truly cooked cake! My oven would have taken probably another ten minutes to cook so thank God I set the timer early. That being said, it was still an awesome cake and the ‘golden colour’, only added a welcome slightly crunchy texture to the outer of a very velvety soft and tasty cake.

ks 214

–          400ml custard – already made up

–          300g raspberries – crushed

–          250g stork baking margarine (or butter)

–          250g caster sugar

–          4 eggs

–          250g plain flour

–          2 tsp baking powder

–          Raspberry jam

–          Icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Grease and line 2 x 8” round cake tins

Mix together the custard with half the raspberries. You want quite a thick custard consistency so that when layered with the cake it stays separated from the cake mixture. I made mine from a custard powder but you can buy ready made up custard, or make it yourself.

In a large bowl, beat together the stork and the sugar until pale and creamy and then beat in one egg at a time

Sieve the flower and the baking powder into the bowl with the butter mixture and fold this into the mix, along with the remaining raspberries

Spread a quarter of the cake mixture onto each tray and then divide up the custard mix on top of each.

Divide up the remaining cake mix between the two tins and spread it out evenly, covering up all the custard.

Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes, until the top of the cake springs back to you when you touch it.

Leave to cool for 15 minutes before tipping the cakes onto a wire rack to cool completely

 Sandwich the cakes together with lots of sticky jam and then sprinkle with icing sugar before serving with fresh cream and more raspberries.

25 thoughts on “Raspberry and Custard Cake

  1. Oh, that looks good! I’m guess this recipe would work well with blackberries too? I ask just because we have a TON of blackberries coming out of our backyard and we’re always on the look out for new uses for them 🙂

  2. Beautiful. This looks such a great recipe to add to my “Cakes with custard in” repertoire (it’s a limited repertoire, I grant you. So far, apple and rhubarb cakes). I love the use of the fresh raspberries.
    And how nice of the super-speedy oven to give your cake a crispy top – I’m sure it was deliberate really ;).

Leave a Reply

