Mediterranean Vegetable and Potato Omelette

If I was to tell you I had this for breakfast would anyone thing I was weird? I have crazy cravings at breakfast time, when everyone else it eating cereal or toast I enjoy a good bowl of soup, chilli, lasagne or the like; I basically crave something really savoury. My usual breakfast before work is leftover dinner from the night before of cheese on toast; the thought of a great savoury meal is the only thing that gets me up in the morning. While the weekdays involve something quick (I value the extra minutes in bed), the weekend give me a bit more time to cook up a breakfast storm. This was my first breakfast back from Ibiza, as I just craved something filling, tasty and fun to make. But breakfast aside, this would also make a great lunch, dinner with some chunky chips, or even enjoyed as a lunchbox snack cold.

k 019

Serves 2 with salad

–          Olive oil – for frying

–          100g potato – cut into 1cm cubes

–          75g pepper – cut into chunks

–          1 red onion – finely sliced

–          100g courgette – grated

–          3 eggs

–          1 tsp dried oregano

–          1 tsp mustard powder

–          Splash milk

–          Salt and pepper

–          ½ tsp paprika

–          Grated cheese – to top.

Heat the oil in a non-stick frying pan and fry the potato until it starts to turn golden and crispy

Add the pepper and the onion and fry for a further 5 minutes, until the vegetables have softened and then add the courgette and fry for 2-3 minutes until most of the juices have evaporated.

In the meantime, whisk together the eggs, oregano, mustard powder, milk, paprika and salt and pepper and then pour into the pan with the vegetables.

Leave to bubble away on a medium heat until you can see that the egg around the sides of the pan has started to cook.

Grate the cheese on top of the omelette and place under a hot grill for 3-4 minutes until it is golden brown in colour and cooked all the way though

Slice up and serve with a lovely summery salad.

Image

23 thoughts on “Mediterranean Vegetable and Potato Omelette

  1. Pingback: Mediterranean Vegetable and Potato Omelette | Catching up with Homemade With Mess | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

  2. Sometimes I have a big salad topped with an egg or a plate of stirfried veg for breakfast 🙂 I just love savoury food at breakfast! I saw a breakfast recipe today of baked sweet potato topped with a peanut butter sauce, completely mental but sounds like the perfect breakfast to me hehe

  3. I totally agree. Savory in the morn.I love pretty much leftover anything for breakfast. My rule about if a pizza is good cold the next morning that’s a good pizza. Almost any pizza is good hot…..LOL

  4. Pingback: The Liebster Award | Fly on the wall

  5. Looks fabulous! I just did pro-savoury-breakfast post myself – which was actually a post about being nice to my sweet-toothed hubby and making the occasional batch of pancakes! Savoury breakfast RULES. Love your posh wooden board + rocket leaves presentation too!

Leave a Reply

