Dough Balls with Garlic and Herb Butter

I made these with a little leftover dough I had from my previous pizza post, so I couldn’t say exactly how many dough balls this would make. I realise that this is perhaps not very helpful so I should probably try them again and let you know; in the meantime they were so good I just had to share them with you right away!

I have always had a slight obsession with Pizza Express, infact I never order pizza from any other menu as they just don’t come close in comparison. Beside the great pizzas, Pizza Express is pretty famous for their dough balls and I thought it about time that I try my hand at making my own. I have to say I was damn impressed, and these could definitely prove a very worthy competitor against the mighty Pizza Express; I may be bias but I think mine would actually win in a bake off! So, if you’re ever in need of a great starter or a sociable snack, then you just have to give these a try.

food 054

For the Dough Balls

–          150g strong white bread flour

–          ¾ tsp easy blend dried yeast

–         1/2 tsp salt

–         ¾ tbsp. olive oil

–          90ml warm water

For the Garlic and Herb Butter

–          50g salted butter

–          2 cloves garlic – crushed

–          Small handful fresh basil – finely chopped

–          Small handful fresh parsley – finely chopped

–          Twist black pepper

Combine the flour, yeast and salt together in a bowl and make a well in the middle

Mix the oil into the warm water and pour into the well in the middle of the bowl

Stir the flour gradually into the well, bringing it in a bit at a time from the side of the bowl.

Get the dough out on a floured worktop and kneed for 5-10 minutes until smooth and elastic

Grease a clean bowl with olive oil and put the dough into this, covering with an oiled sheet of cling film

Place somewhere warm (I put mine in the airing cupboard) and leave to rise for about an hour until it has doubled in size

Knock the dough back onto a clean work top and knead for a couple of minutes to get the air out.

Roll the dough with your hands into small balls about an inch in circumference.

Place the dough balls on a tray that is lined with parchment and greased with a little oil.

Place the tray in a clean plastic bag and leave to rise for an hour

Preheat the oven to 200’C

Once risen, bake in the oven for 5-7 minutes until they are a light golden colour

In the meantime simply mix together the ingredients for the butter and use it to dip the warm dough balls into, bliss!

96 thoughts on “Dough Balls with Garlic and Herb Butter

  1. I never really was good at the art of culinary so , i’ll leave it up to you’re blog , to surprise me with delicious easy to make food 🙂

  2. How wonderful and oozy and delicious these look! And thanks for stopping by eve’s apple! ~mcproco.wordpress.com

  3. Thanks for the like of “Destination: Sea View Snack Bar – Mystic, Connecticut”. I look forward to reading more of your recipes – enjoyed the dough balls with garlic and herb butter and plan to add a like. – Jackie

  4. We just had a fried version of these yesterday, and dipped them in our incredible ragu sauce. Delicious! Also, not frying them for most occasions is the way to go, but sometimes you just have to splurge.

  5. Thanks for stopping by and liking A Photo’s Worth. Sometimes I get stuck in a rut when it comes to planning a meal. Maybe I need your inspiration.

  6. Pingback: Gastrointestinal Hot Links | Tacky Raccoons

Leave a Reply

