Mediterranean Vegetable and Red Pesto Minestrone Soup

It may not appear to be the season for soup, but in my eyes this can be eaten any time of year. My soups have a tendency to be a little more like a casserole, infact if this got any thicker you could pass it off as a great pasta sauce. I however like to eat mine with a spoon and scoopings of cheese on toast, which is my definition of a soup.

You will also be surprised how rich and filling this is; where many would see soup as a starter or lunch meal, this would actually make a great nutritious dinner. If you don’t believe me you will just have to try it for yourself!

food 093

Serves 4

–          1 red onion – roughly chopped

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          6-8 rashes bacon – chopped into small pieces

–          2 cloves garlic – crushed

–          1 red pepper – roughly chopped

–          1 courgette – roughly chopped

–          1 small sweet potato – peeled and chopped into small chunks

–          Remaining sauce left over from the pizza making (or simply add the ingredients from my previous recipe)

–          100ml sweet red pepper pesto (see previous recipe)

–          1 tsp marmite

–          2 pints good quality chicken or vegetable stock

–          85g pasta – broken into pieces

In a large saucepan of casserole pan, heat the oil and fry the onions for 5 minutes or so, until they have softened

Add the bacon and the garlic and fry off until the bacon starts to turn golden

Stir in the remaining ingredients and cook off for 5 minutes, stirring every so often so they don’t stick to the pan

Add the remaining ingredients, except the pasta, and give the pot a good stir. Bring the mixture to the boil and then cover and leave for an hour. If you leave it any longer it will simply thicken, which is not a bad thing

Remove the lid and add the pasta to the pot.

Simmer until the pasta is cooked (time depending on the individual packs) and then serve hot with cheesy toasts.

19 thoughts on “Mediterranean Vegetable and Red Pesto Minestrone Soup

  1. I love thick soups – far better than wishy washy things with bits floating in them (ugh. Sorry. That doesn’t sound nice!). What are really good are the soups that start off with a “normal” consistency and you can serve them for lunch, then they thicken up on cooling and work well for supper too – ultimate lazy cooking 😉

  2. I enjoy your recipes (your mouth-watering pictures always draw me in!)… I was wondering if you have a favorite recipe that uses sage? I am growing an herb garden this year. The soil and location are not ideal, so I just threw in the seeds I could find. I have some nice cilantro, thyme, basil, and sage (my mint didn’t make it at all). I know many uses for most of my herbs, but am not well versed in recipes that call for sage. Do you have any favorite recipes that use sage?

    • To be honest it’s not something I use an awful lot (I sadly live in a flat and have no space to grow fresh herbs), but weirdly I cooked a delicious lamb shank the other day that used fresh sage and I’ll be posting that this week. It is also a really great ingredient in a good stuffing for a roast dinner, with some onions, mushrooms and herbs. Alternatively it would go lovely in a risotto or for something simple, simply stir it into some melted butter with salt and pepper and use it for a sauce with gnocchi or tortellini.

      • Thank you! Lamb was the only thing I could think of and we don’t eat lamb-availability here is limited. I love the idea of using it in stuffing!

  3. I agree with people saying soup is good at anytime but I only have it in winters because whenever I ask my friends to have soup I got the same reply, hey man its not winter so we are not going ! that moment I feel very bad

Leave a Reply

