Spicy Lentil Burgers with Mango and Chilli Mayonnaise

This is my last blog for a week as I am off to live it up and have an amazing time at Glastonbury festival, to say I’m excited is an understatement! This recipe is therefore fitting of the festival  season as it was an attempt to re-create the most awesome vegi burger I have ever eaten, even meat loving Sam was in awe it! If anyone hasn’t been to Glastonbury before then you are truly missing out. There are no words that can put into context how amazing it is; it’s a total other World full of magic, mayhem and happy happy people. It is also a food lovers paradise, they literally have everything you could possible imagine; from goat curry, wood fired pizzas, awesome falafels to roast dinners. I can’t wait to see what this year has to hold in the way of culinary delights, I just wish there was a way I could try everything without a) being sick b) spending money and c) putting on ten stone; if anyone has any ideas then please let me know!

Day dream over and back to the burger; I believe this will actually surprise even the biggest meat lovers out there, as it is full of flavour, great textures and damn tasty. It is also a great way to use the rolls from my previous blog and the mango and mayonnaise give it a really good tangy kick, if you don’t believe me just give it a try!

noodles 020

Serves 4

For the burgers

–          115g red lentils – cooked according to pack instruction

–          ½ tbsp. olive oil

–          1 onion – finely chopped

–          1 cloves garlic – crushed

–          1 tbsp mango chutney

–          1 tsp curry powder

–          1 tsp cumin

–          1 tsp coriander

–          ½ tsp chilli powder

–          ½ tsp mustard powder

–          1 carrot – peeled and grated

–          60g breadcrumbs

–          1 egg – beaten

–          Plain flour – set out on a small plate

–          Oli – for frying the burgers

For the mango and chilli mayonnaise

–          1 red chilli – finely chopped

–          Juice of ½ lime

–          1 tbsp mango chutney

–          1 tbsp mayonnaise

For the assembly

–          4 soft rolls – sliced in half (I took advantage of my freshly baked ale rolls from my previous blog)

–          Mixed leaves

–          Red onion – finely sliced

–          Orange pepper – finely sliced

To make the burgers, heat the oil in a frying pan and gently fry the onion and the garlic until soft

Mix together all the ingredients for the burgers (bar the flour) until well combined and season to taste.

Coat your hands in flour and shape the mixture into 4 burger shapes.

Roll the burgers in the flour and chill in the fridge for at least half an hour to firm up

In the meantime, mix together the ingredients for the mayonnaise

Fill a frying pan with about half an inch of oil and heat to a high temperature

Fry the burgers for 3-4 minutes on each side until golden brown and crispy

Assemble the burgers in the bun and topped with a dollop of the mayonnaise and salad.

Serve with some sweet potato wedges (search my blog for a great recipe) and some extra salad.

Image

34 thoughts on “Spicy Lentil Burgers with Mango and Chilli Mayonnaise

  1. That looks amazing. I love lentils. I was a veggie from 11-18 (a strict one too) and I still adore vegetarian recipes. Love chilli and mango too. Will def give this one a go. Thanks for posting it. Have good time at G.

  2. Oh yum! I do one which is coconut flakes, all types of nuts chopped, chia seeds, cinnamon (and optional rolled oats which I actually think are very healthy), coconut oil drizzled over and baked for about 20-30 minutes on 150’C oven.

  3. Looks amazing! And delicious (although in food those two words really ought to mean the same thing) 🙂

    My hubby came home from work yesterday with a very strange expression on his face.
    “What’s up?” I asked.
    “I ate lentil soup today,” he said, rather embarrassed, “and it was actually pretty good.”
    Ah yes, I can feel the porthole to healthy eating opening up… let’s hear it for soup confessionals and burgers as fabulous as the one above!!

    Have a blast at Glastonbury!

  4. Thank you for this!! I’m a veggie and I’m always keen to try new burger recipes because I think I’m yet to find the perfect one. I shall definitely be trying this! So jealous you were at Glastonbury!

    Francesca xo

  5. Pingback: Moroccan Minted Lamb Burgers with Feta and Cucumber Yoghurt and Houmous | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

