Thai Steak Noodle Salad

I love fresh and spicy food so much but I do have one problem with it, and that’s chopping the chillis. I can never seem to get the heat off my fingers, no matter what I try. I say no matter what I try, but I haven’t really tried anything weird and wacky, mainly just trying to scrub it off my fingers. I did however read from Gordon Ramsey that if you rub your hands in oil before washing then it gets the sting off. I never really tried this but Sam once chopped a chilli for me, forgetting that he needed to put his contract lenses in afterwards, and so I suggested the Gordon method to remove the heat. Turns out it doesn’t work so well and Sam was left with a red eye for a week (sorry baby).

Chilli chopping aside, when you cook such a tasty dish like this one the positives definitely outweigh the negatives, and it makes the whole process worth it!

noodles 001

For the beef marinade

–          2 x chunky sirloin steaks

–          1 thumbsize piece ginger – grated

–          Juice of 1 lime

–          1 tbsp dark soft brown sugar

–          2 cloves garlic – crushed

–          2 tbsp fish sauce

–          1 tbsp soy sauce

–          1 tbsp sesame oil

For the noodles

–          100g egg noodles – if dried then cook according to the pack instructions

–          1 tbsp sesame oil

–          1 large pepper or multiple mini peppers – finely sliced

–          1 red onion – finely sliced

–          1 stalk of lemongrass – finely chopped

–          1 red chilli – finely sliced

–          1/3 cucumber – finely sliced into noodles

–          Large handful coriander

–          Sesame seeds

Mix all the ingredients together for the beef marinade and marinate the beef in it for 2 hours – or longer if you have longer

Heat a wok and a griddle pan until hot and fry the steak according to how you like it. I cooked mine for 2 minutes on each side and then an extra minute on each again.

Once the meat is cooked, leave it to stand for a couple of minutes before slicing

In the meantime fry the onion, peppers, chilli and lemongrass in the wok with the oil for 2 minutes. Pour in the juices from the steak marinade and cook off for 2 minutes.

Add the noodles, stir through the mixture and fry off for another minute or two until heated through

Remove the noodles from the heat and stir in the cucumber and the coriander.

Plate up the noodles, top with the steak and garnish with the sesame seeds.

17 thoughts on “Thai Steak Noodle Salad

  1. Looks lovely! I wear contact lenses and love chillies so had a serious problem until I invested in some Marigold washing up gloves that I use just for chopping chillies and beetroot.

  2. Love this recipe. I make something similar. Try washing your hands well with milk after chopping chilies. Really rubbing the milk in and scrubbing your fingers with milk. It does help.

  3. Ick, Chili in the eye does not sound fun. I have trouble getting in contacts with perfectly clean hands. Lovely recipe. I also like adding soft brown sugar to steak marinade. It heaps add a lovely depth to the caramelization. Yum.

  4. awesome salad. if i had abundant access to coriander, i’d be all over it in a second.
    regarding the chili heat, i’ve found that any strong acid (particularly lime juice) can take off the chili oils very easily. wasting a little bit of juice from your lime or lemon on your hands, giving a good rub, and then rinsing with water can save tremendous amounts of retinal pain.

  5. Love the post and great recipe. Definitely something I would eat and love. 🙂 As for the chiles, use alcohol. Alcohol acts as a solvent to remove the oils. One day we were chopping chiles for dinner really hot chiles. Baby Lady ignores me constantly about wearing gloves because she is a little Mexican girl and doesn’t need them. After we ate her hands were very red and bothering her tremendously. My belly was fine so go figure. Nonetheless, we had read somewhere that alcohol will remove the oils from your hands. I didn’t believe it would work but she was in considerable pain, naturally deserved mind you for ignoring my urging to use gloves. So, she tried it using some cheap vodka we keep for cleaning bathrooms, etc. Darned if it didn’t work. I’m still amazed and she still won’t use gloves. 🙂

  6. Yummy recipe – will try that tomorrow! and yes, definitely gloves for chopping chillies – or perhaps one of those chopping devices where you just press the handle or a mini food processor? You’d still have to wear gloves to cut the chilies and de-seed them…

  7. This looks AMAZING! Your ‘messy’ creations really do inspire me to start cooking again (it’s been a while).
    Maybe a weekend cooking project is at hand ~ Thai steak noodle salad or spicy lentil burgers…time to get messy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

