1st Anniversary Blog – Parsnip and Apple Cake

Wow, I can’t believe Homemade with Mess is 1 today, have I really been blogging for a whole year?! It seems like only yesterday that I blogged my first recipe and from that very moment I was hooked, and I have loved every post since. I am so grateful to every single one of you that follow me and give me wonderful comments, you have seriously boosted my confidence and your support makes me so happy.

My intention when setting up homemadewithmess was simply to share my love of food and recipes with everyone and honestly, to give me something to do in the evenings (let’s face it; I lack motivation to do anything physical). Little did I know how addictive blogging would become and it has gone from a hobby to an obsession and now it has become my life. I have the best fiancé in the World who often puts up with cold meals so I can take photos of everything. He is also the best guinea pig anyone could ask for, as the only thing he doesn’t like is Branston pickle, so he is the perfect man in my eyes.

There is only one way to celebrate a birthday, and that is with cake. This is not just any old cake recipe but was the topping of a giant cake mountain at Sam’s sister’s wedding this weekend. I know I have mentioned previously about this wedding cake, and how the request was for the cakes to be vegetable based and after much practice and cake testing I decided on the following; chocolate and beetroot, butternut squash and parsnip and apple. Sam’s mum made the awesome fruit cake, which no wedding should be without, and I stuck them together with cream cheese frosting and lots of fruit and flowers. I am pleased to say that all the cakes went down a storm and as I have already shared my beetroot and squash cake with you I though it only fair to share the parsnip and apple. I would however suggest you use 2 x 20cm sandwich tins, mine was only 5” but it meant I had loads of mixture left over for cupcakes.

IMG_9864

For the cake

–          175g butter , plus extra for greasing

–          250g demerara sugar

–          100ml maple syrup

–          3 large eggs

–          250g self-raising flour

–          2 tsp baking powder

–          2 tsp mixed spice

–          200g parsnips , peeled and grated

–          2 medium apples, peeled, cored and grated

–          zest and juice 1 orange

For the icing

–          250g tub mascarpone

–          3-4 tbsp maple syrup

–          Icing sugar – to garnish

Heat oven to 160C

Grease and line 2 x 20cm sandwich tins.

Melt the butter, sugar and maple syrup in a pan over a gentle heat and then cool slightly before whisking in the eggs.

Stir in the flour, baking powder and mixed spice; followed by the parsnip, apple and orange zest and juice.

Divide the mixture between the two tins and bake for 25-30 mins, until the tops spring back when pressed.

Cool the cakes slightly and then turn them out onto wire racks to cool completely.

Once cool, mix together the mascarpone and maple syrup.

Sandwich the cakes together with the cream and then dust the top with icing sugar.

Slice and enjoy 😀

Image

31 thoughts on “1st Anniversary Blog – Parsnip and Apple Cake

  1. A year from now, you will wish you had started today. And you did!

    Happy first birthday! I feel like you have been blogging for more than a year but it must just be because you are so prolific. Blogging can be a great excuse for motivation. Sometimes when when faced with should I? shouldn’t I? It’s the blog factor that makes me just go for it. It’s so easy just to sit back and do nothing.

    Having the courage to do something you want to do takes a moment.

    Gorgeous cake. I would never guess it had so many vegetables in it. It’s quite a wintery/fall cake isn’t it?

  2. What a beautiful cake! I would never have thought of leaving the cake itself on show, but it looks so pretty. I love the different colours and textures of the cake layers and the way they contrast with the fruit and flowers! Happy 1st Anniversary!

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog. Your cake is spectacular. Congratulations on a year of wonderful blogging. I look forward to combing through your posts and trying out some recipes. All good things for the future.

  4. when I saw the title I was intrigued. After looking at the pictures, I’m like ‘WOW. I NEED SOME OF THAT.’ It looks/sounds amazing.
    oh and happy belated birthday 😉

    Francesca xo

  5. Thanks for these wonderful dinners! I love to explore new recipes and am thrilled to find a new source! I’ll have to work on translating the measure. My menu scrap book starts with “DIning with MFK Fisher. Wonderful paragraphs combining food, friends, time and magic.

  6. Pingback: 500 Blog Post Celebration (well, 501 now!) | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

