Roasted Cajun Chicken Legs with Butternut Squash Wedges, Salsa and Crunchy Salad

Some may take this the wrong way, but if you were to ask me if I was a breast or a leg person I would definitely say breast. I am obviously talking about a chicken, but if you were to ask this to my Sam, he would say neither, as he likes the ass (and he would not be talking about a chicken!) I don’t know what it is I don’t like about leg meat, I think the bones freak me out. Although it’s great when I do a roast, as Sam has always prefers leg meat and I will always have the breast, we are officially the perfect couple!

I do think however that I may have been turned by this recipe. Not only were the flavours incredible, but the meat was so juicy and moist and there was an awesome crispy crunchiness to the skin. I think I have to say that the flavour and moisture of leg meat is far superior of the breast, although I think I’m still wierded out by the bones. If you have more balls than me when it comes to eating animals then you must give this a try!

bd 015

Serves 2

For the Cajun Rub

–          1 tsp cayenne pepper

–          1 tsp dried thyme

–          1 tsp dried oregano

–          1 tsp mustard powder

–          ½ tsp salt

–          2 tsp paprika

–          1 clove garlic – minced

–          ¼ tsp ground black peppercorns

For the chicken

–          2 chicken legs

–          1 egg – beaten

–          Breadcrumbs

–          The round end of a butternut squash – de-seeded and sliced into wedges

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          Handful cherry tomatoes

For the salsa

–          2 large tomatoes –  chopped

–          ½ red onion – finely chopped

–          Juice ½ lemon

–          ½ tsp ground coriander

–          ½ tsp oregano

–          1 tsp hot chilli sauce

–          1 tbsp tomato puree

For the salad

–          2 heap tsp mayonnaise

–          1 tsp white wine vinegar

–          ½ tsp mustard vinegar

–          1 tsp fresh chives

–          Juice ½ lemon

–          Selection of salad of your choice

Mix together all the ingredients for the Cajun rub so they are well combined

With a sharp knife, stab the chicken leg all over and then smother with the rub.

Cover and chill for at least at hour, preferably as long as possible

Pre heat the oven to 180’C

Using a pastry brush, cover the chicken in the egg and then sprinkle over the breadcrumbs until well coated

Place on a baking tray with the squash wedges and rub the oil into the chicken. Make sure the squash are well glazed with the oil too.

Roast in the oven for 40 minutes, or until the juices run clear when you poke the chicken. Ten minutes before the chicken is due to be cooked throw the cherry tomatoes into the pan.

While the chicken in cooking, combine all the ingredients for the salsa and whisk together the salad dressing ingredients.

Plate up a salad and once the chicken is cooked, plate it up with the wedges, salsa and drizzle in the dressing.

Image

5 thoughts on “Roasted Cajun Chicken Legs with Butternut Squash Wedges, Salsa and Crunchy Salad

  1. Kudos for working “balls” and “ass” into a recipe. I say this without lechery, when it comes to chicken, I’m a thigh man. Good stuff. Peace, John

  2. Great patter 🙂 Both the white and dark meats (I mean breast and ass) have their place. Your dish looks great. I would like a plate of that chicken right now, please!

Leave a Reply

