Peppercorn Crusted Steak with Cheesy Garlic Mash Potato, Roasted Shallots and Red Wine Jus

If you ever want to get into anyone’s good books then this is the recipe to cook, as it is the ultimate steak dinner, and who doesn’t love steak! I think I may have also found my new favourite kitchen item (well maybe joint with my Le Creuset, as I just have too much love for that to knock it off the top spot), and this is a potato ricer. Too many times have I stood over a pan of hot and steamy potatoes while trying to vigorously mash them until they are smooth. The sweat dripping off my nose has always been great for seasoning, but I don’t think my guests have ever appreciated it.  I honestly don’t know why I didn’t have a potato ricer sooner; all you do is push the potato through it and Bob’s your Uncle, you have great smooth potato within seconds. Trust me, for someone that loves mashed potato as much as I do, it’s a godsend!

steak 009

Serves 2

For the steak

–          2 frying steaks – I used sirloin

–          1 egg – beaten

–          ½ tbsp. peppercorns – crushed in a pestle and mortar

–          1 tsp mustard powder

For the Mash

–          350g potatoes – peeled, sliced and cooked in boiling salty water for around 15-20 minutes – until cooked

–          1 courgette – grated

–          2 cloves garlic – crushed

–          25g butter

–          2 tsp horseradish sauce

–          30g Mature cheddar cheese – grated

For the Red Wine Jus

–          300ml red wine

–          ½ beef stock cube

–          1 tbsp tomato puree

–          20g butter

To serve

–          6 shallots – peeled and roasted in a 180’C oven for 20 minutes

–          Mini leeks – trimmed and steamed for 7 minutes

Remove the steaks from the fridge 45minutes before you need to fry them. Mix together the peppercorns, some salt and the mustard and dip the steaks, first in the egg then the peppercorn mixture and set aside until needed.

Preheat the oven to 180’C

While the potatoes are cooking, heat a frying pan with the butter and gently fry off the courgette and the garlic until all the moisture has evaporated from the pan.

Mash together the potato, courgette mix, horseradish and a good twist of salt and pepper.

Place in an oven proof dish (I divided mine between 2 ramekins), top with the grated cheese and bake for 20minutes. You will also want to put your shallots in at the same time.

In a small saucepan, bring the red wine to the boil and add the stock and the tomato puree. Reduce to a medium heat and simmer for around 15 minutes until the liquid has halved in quantity. Remove from the heat and stir in the butter before serving.

In the meantime, heat a frying pan to with nob of butter until smoking hot.

Add the steak and cook according to taste. Ours were quite chunky and to cook them medium rare I did 2 minutes on each side and then an extra minute on each side.

Remove the steaks from the pan and leave to rest for 3 minutes before serving.

Plate up all the ingredients and serve with some freshly steamed vegetables.

Image

19 thoughts on “Peppercorn Crusted Steak with Cheesy Garlic Mash Potato, Roasted Shallots and Red Wine Jus

  1. awesome dish, the steak looks perfect in terms of how done it is and overall. I like your recipe on the mashed potatoes, love that combo of the cheese and the horseradish.

  2. It looks, and sounds, so good! My family doesn’t appreciate food like I do-I wouldn’t be able to make this for them. They like my sweets, but their taste buds aren’t adventurous enough yet to try any other flavorful foods! I’m working on them, though! lol

Leave a Reply

