Cheesy, Garlicky Hasselback Potatoes with a Sweet Tomato Dipping Sauce

I have always seen potatoes cooked this way and thought how great they looked, but never got round to actually trying them out until now. I also learnt from an unsuccessful tasting at a family roast dinner (I won’t name names), that these take a pretty long time to cook. We had a delicious roast beef dinner cooked for us and these potatoes looked the bee’s knees; but unfortunately they were absolutely rock hard in the middle, although the outside was still crispy and salvable.  I think if I hadn’t experienced that I probably would have totally under-cooked them this time, so it does often help to learn from others mistakes.

As is very obvious, I am totally addicted to cheese, so I couldn’t help smothering these, and it was such a welcome addition. Be warned; this dish is highly addictive, so you may find yourself having to make them again and again and again (infact, I’m sure they go with everything)!

fri 016

Serves 2-3 as a side dish

For the Potatoes

–          6 small-medium potatoes

–           2 tbsp corn oil

–          2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

–          Salt and pepper

–          60g cheese – grated

–          1 large garlic – clove crushed

For the Sweet Tomato Dipping Sauce

–          ½ tbsp. olive oil

–          ½ red onion – finely chopped

–          7 cherry tomatoes – cut into quarters

–          1 clove garlic – crushed

–          1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

–          ½ tbsp. tomato puree

–          2 tbsp water

–          ½ tps mixed herbs

–          1 tsp sugar

Preheat the oven to 200g

Wash and scrub the potatoes and then dry them off with a clean towel

Make slices across the potatoes about 3-5mm apart, being careful not to cut all the way through the potato.

Mix together the oil and the vinegar and a good twist of salt and pepper

Lay the potatoes in a roasting dish, so the cut side is facing up and drizzle over in the oil and vinegar mix

Bake in the oven for about an hour until the centre is cooked through, they may need longer depending on their size.

In the meantime, to make the sweet tomato sauce, simply fry the onion in the olive oil for 4-5 minutes until just turning brown and then add the garlic for a further minute

Add all the remaining ingredients, bring it to the boil and them simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove the sauce from the heat and leave to cool slightly before whizzing into a paste.

Mix together the grated cheese, the garlic and a good twist of black pepper and shape into 6 flatish surfboard shapes, so they will lie over the top of the potato.

When the potatoes are cooked, place the cheese on top of each potato and place under the grill until the cheese has melted

Plate up with the dipping sauce and enjoy 😀

Image

41 thoughts on “Cheesy, Garlicky Hasselback Potatoes with a Sweet Tomato Dipping Sauce

  1. Reblogged this on the hunger and commented:
    couldn’t resist reblogging this sweet recipe, and can’t wait to try it out! make sure you check out the blog too, tons of good eats!

  2. These look heavenly! I have tried baking potatoes that had been sliced this was and drizzled with oil, salt and pepper, and they were good. But the dipping sauce and the cheese over the top….yum! I must try these!

  3. Saw a recipe for these the other week but yours look so much better! Definitely going to try these:-) x

  4. I’m willing to be addicted. Good tip about cooking time as you’d think being sliced they would cook more quickly than a whole baked potato, but obviously not (I really dislike raw potato!).

    • Thank you 😀

      Yeah I learn from others that they actually take a long time to cook. You would think with them being sliced that they wouldn’t take to long but they do take almost as long as a jacket would.

      • I’ll have to try them again! I think I’ll also soak them in water next time and get the starch out because that’s a good trick that works for my homemade fries so it should work for this too!

  5. Pingback: Potatoes | simplyvegetarian777

  6. MMM they look good! The only times we’ve had Hasselback potatoes was when my younger daughter was home to do all that slicing. I might have to try your version though…asap! Thanks fro the like on my post.

  7. Like you, I have often seen these and thought they looked great but I haven’t actually got around to trying them myself! I must give the a go soon. It’s great to know to cook them for longer, thanks!

  8. these look scrumptious..! but my growing waistline will not permit it.. 🙂 love the name of your blog, though i must confess i am a borderline OCD person.. so have to clean the kitchen as i am cooking… but yes, my head’s pretty messed up… so maybe can interpret it as that 🙂

Leave a Reply

