Three Bean Vegetable Chilli

I can’t believe we are nearly in May and I am still craving comforting and warming food. Infact, as I type this I am sat with my slanket over my legs to keep me warm (would you believe I’m 26, not 70!!) If it wasn’t for my love of my Le Creuset and wintry foods I think I would have become very depressed with the weather in the UK. On the up side I get to eat more chilli (yay), and who wouldn’t be happy about that!? Chilli is one of my favourites, and let’s face it; this is not my first chilli post. It is so versatile, tasty and you can chuck so much good stuff into it; plus it always tastes great. I will often cook it to use up any vegetables that are starting to look a little sad, and you can easily bulk it out with your store cupboard ingredients. So here is yet another chilli recipe for you, hopefully you love chilli as much as me because let’s face it, it probably won’t be the last!

clothes 005

Serves 4

–          1 – 2 tbsp olive oil

–          1 large white onion – roughly chopped

–          2 chilli’s – picked to taste and finely chopped

–          1 green pepper – finely sliced

–          100g courgette – roughly chopped

–          125g carrots – finely chopped

–          100g broccoli – roughly chopped

–          4 cloves garlic

–          2 tsp cumin

–          1 tsp hot chilli powder

–          1 tbsp red wine vinegar

–          2 tbsp Worcester sauce

–          1 x 400g tin chopped tomatoes

–          1 x 400g tin kidney beans

–          1 x 400g cannelloni beans

–          1 x 400g baked beans

–          1 pint vegetable stock

–          1 tbsp tomato puree

–          1 tsp mixed herbs

–          Large handful frozen sweetcorn

Pre heat the oven to 160C

Heat the oil in a large oven and hob proof casserole dish

Fry the onion for 5 minutes, until soft

Add the rest of the vegetables and the garlic and fry off for 7-8 minutes, stirring regularly.

Add the cumin, chilli powder and stir so all the veg are coated and fry off for a minutes

Add the red wine vinegar and cook until this has been absorbed by the veg (couple of minutes should do the trick.)

Add the remaining ingredients, stir and bring to the boil.

Cover and place in the oven for at least an hour, the longer the better.

Once the sauce is thick and a deep rich colour, remove from the oven and add the sweetcorn.

Cover and leave to stand for 5 minutes

Serve hot with whatever takes your fancy. We had ours with cheese nachos, which made for dunking. 

11 thoughts on “Three Bean Vegetable Chilli

  1. That looks so appealing! Even though the sun is shining today there’s still a bitter wind down here on the South coast… I could eat chilli whatever the weather, as you can make it summery with a cooling salsa, guacamole and chilled sour cream! I love all of the bean action going on in your recipe, a great alternative for me when the bf is having a meaty chilli. Am definitely inspired to try this! 🙂
    x

  2. This is an awesome recipe dear! Beans are such a healthy meal, rich in protein and you are using all 3 beans and sweet corns!! yum yum.. It could be great dinner idea too if I make it little soupy!! what say??

Leave a Reply

