Caramelised Onion and Mascarpone Pizza Bread

The possibilities that are there to you once you have mastered a basic pizza dough recipe are endless. Not only can you make the most delicious and exciting pizza, with any toppings or sauce combination that tickles your fancy; but you can also make garlic bread, dough balls, calzone, bread sticks and this delicious recipe.  I have always stuck to the same dough recipe in the past as I have the mentality that if something isn’t broken then why fix it?! However I had a shiny beautiful new kitchen aid mixer for my birthday and therefore thought I would try out one of their recipes for pizza dough, so I could give my new mixer a try. If I am going to be honest, for pizza I think I prefer the recipe I have always used for the dough, but what this recipe was perfect for was this caramelised onion bread; as it was the consistency between pizza dough and focaccia bread. You will also notice that I have described a none-mixer method, as I imagine not everyone has a Kitchenaid, but if you wanted the mixer version then just check out the Kitchenaid recipe website for the details.

004

Great for a sharing starter – Makes 2 large breads

–          300g strong white bread flour

–          7g sachet fast action yeast

–          ½ tsp caster sugar

–          Pinch salt

–          150ml warm water

–          50ml oil

–          5 red onions – finely sliced

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          25g butter

–          3 tbsp balsamic vinegar

–          3 tbsp sugar

–          Salt and Pepper

–          Mascarpone Cheese

Mix together the flour, sugar, yeast and salt in a bowl and make a well in the middle

Mix the oil into the warm water and pour into the well in the middle of the bowl

Stir the flour gradually into the well bringing it in a bit at a time from the side of the bowl.

Get the dough out on a floured worktop and kneed for 5-10 minutes until smooth and elastic

Grease a clean bowl with olive oil and put the dough into this, covering with an oiled sheet of cling film

Place somewhere warm (I put mine in the airing cupboard) and leave to rise for about an hour.

In the meantime, heat a large frying pan with the oil and the butter and fry the onions for 3-4 minutes, until they just start to soften.

Add the balsamic vinegar and sugar and stir until well combined. Reduce the heat to a medium to low temperature and leave to simmer for 25-30minutes until all the liquid has absorbed and the onions are soft and sticky.

Preheat the oven to 220’C

When your dough has doubled in size, bang it out onto a floured worktop and kneed it for about 2 minutes.

Divide it into 2 and roll out each dough so it is about 2-3mm thick place onto a baking tray. If it isn’t a non-stick tray it may be worth either greasing or lining.

Spread the caramelised onion mixture onto each dough and then top with little dollops of mascarpone cheese.

Bake in the oven for 7-10 minutes until golden and crispy

9 thoughts on “Caramelised Onion and Mascarpone Pizza Bread

  1. Yum. Why didn’t I think of that? Last week I made a big batch of caramelised onions and road tested a new focaccia / pizza base recipe that uses mashed potato in the dough. Thanks for the inspiration. I’ll definitely have to give this idea a go.

  2. Thanks for the like on my pizza post! I’m definitely going to try this deliciousness on one of the pizza doughs currently hanging out in my fridge this weekend! Can’t wait to read your future posts in my reader! WOOT! (i heart food so much)

  3. Pingback: Barbecued Pollo Ad Astra Pizza – Cajun chicken, red onion and sweet peppers | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

