Lamb and Cauliflower Curry (not so Biryani)

Well let this be my lesson, to do my research before naming a dish. I don’t actually know why I thought a biryani was lentils but thank you to those that pointed out my error. The dish has now been more suitable named, and as it’s most certainly not a biryani it should possibly be named the ‘Not so Biryani’. Perhaps I could start a trend and the street I live on will be nick named ‘the not so biryani belt’, after my world famous curry!

Anyway, here is my original blog for anyone who is very confused right now…………

As much as I love making curry, I’ve never cooked a biryani before. If I’m honest it’s probably because lentils have a tendency with both myself and Sam to create rather a lot of smelly wind. Sorry if that is sharing a little bit too much with you there, but as great as they are, I do tend to avoid them. However I had some lamb in the freezer left-over from a previous roast dinner and I thought what the hell, this meat would be perfect in a biryani. It also helped that Sam was out until 9pm so I think the lentils probably didn’t get the chance to be fully digested before bed and therefore we were stink free. Anyway, I hope my pongy stories have not put you off, as this is a really great one pot that is easy to make and rather satisfying.

ar 004

For the curry paste

–          ½ tsp chilli powder

–          ½ tsp turmeric

–          2 tsp cumin

–          2 tsp coriander

–          1 thumbsize piece of ginger – chopped

–          4 cloves garlic

–          ½ white onion

–          2 red chillis –  chopped

For the Biryani

–          ½ white onion – roughly chopped

–          1 tbsp corn oil

–          165g cauliflower – cut into florets

–          300g lamb – cubed or leftover from a roast joint

–          1 pint lamb stock

–          75g red lentils

–          1 tbsp mango chutney 

Preheat the oven to 160’C

Blend together the ingredients for the paste.

In a large oven proof saucepan/casserole dish, fry the onion in the oil on a medium heat until soft. Stir in the cauliflower and the lamb and fry for another 3-4 minutes until the lamb has browned and the cauliflower starts to soften.

Stir in the curry paste and stir the mixture for 3 minutes on the heat.

Add the stock and the lentils, stir the curry well and then cover with a piece of grease proof paper.

Place in the oven and cook for 1 hour.

Remove from the oven, stir in the mango chutney and season to taste

Enjoy with fresh vegetables or rice.

17 thoughts on “Lamb and Cauliflower Curry (not so Biryani)

  1. Hmm interesting! But where is the rice, considering you named it biryani. And I’ve never heard of lentils in biryani before. Hmm maybe you are substituting cauliflower for rice. BTW, I am reading what I wrote, and think it might sound kinda snarky..totally not meaning to, I just gots questions!

Leave a Reply

